Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Mine didn't turn out looking like the pictured ones. I didn't add any crisscrossing so maybe that's why. They tasted like cinnamon buns. I found they tasted the best when I cut them in half, put some margarine on them and placed them in the microwave for 20 seconds. I would definitely make these again sometime. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WannaBeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
I love conchas, i grew up eating them with hot coco (or chocolate caliente). I just wished they could have been more fluffy. But great recipe! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Terrific recipe! My wife made the bread using the ingredients exactly as directed and it was excellent! But instead of making 12 conchas, she cut the portions in half and made 24 - the perfect size. She also baked them only 12 minutes. The dough rose perfectly in a warm oven (1.5 hours and then 45 mintues after applying the topping). The bread was very light and airy, and tasted great with the sugar topping. Thanks to Melissa Amador for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I just got finished making this bread and it was the first time I ever actually tried making a mexican sweet bread myself from scratch. Before now all I had was store bought. All I can say is "OMG", this is the best sweet bread I have ever eaten. I will never go back to store bought again! If you haven't already, you owe it to yourself to try this recipe. It is somewhat time consuming, but oh so worth the effort. If you've ever considered making these, try this recipe. You'll be soooooo glad you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
The best! Don't really like conchas from mexican bakery, but love these and so does everyone else! Time consuming, but worth it. Have made with and without bread machine, both come out great. When use bread machine, use to knead bread, then take out and continue with recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traci82
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These were good but I will have to try again with a different flour. I used a wheat bread flour and my husband said they were good but tasted a little "healthy", lol. The top was fun to work with. I added a little too much vanilla to the half I did that flavor and the artwork I did kinda smoothes away. The cinnamon side was beautiful though. thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Great tasting conchas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Wow! These are awesome! I was a bit worried about them rising but everything went very smoothly. They rose both times and came out HUGE. They were ready in only 13 minutes and my Mexican husband said they were better than store bought! They looked very pretty too. I split the topping into 3 small bowls and made the traditional white (vanilla), brown (cocoa), and pink (just a couple drops of food coloring). I highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was a good recipe, my Mexican in laws loved them! I also ran into trouble getting the dough to rise. Next time i am thinking of trying the highly active yeast. It did rise some after I mixed it all together and let it sit to start the topping. But after putting them on the pan to let them sit the additional 45 min, they did nothing. Also, the 20 min. baking time was a little too long for me as the bottom was quite brown and hardened. I plan to make some adjustments to the recipe and see if it works better for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
oh my what a recipe! The conchas were so good!! I followed everything exactly and although it didn't rise they turned out so great and tastey. Better than the local panaderia only a bit smaller. I'm still not sure why they didn't rise both times but when it tastes this good I won't question it! Thank you so much for sharing this. I'll never buy stale pan de dulce again ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzibear

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States