Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Maybe more of an americanized version of a concha- but so delish! Used 3-1/2 cups flour and used 1/2 butter 1/2 crisco in the dough part of the recipe- omitted the cinnamon- and added vanilla-used regular milk instead of evaporated- Did it all in the bread machine- worked perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
We made these for our Girl Scout Thinking Day today. They were a huge hit and are so delicious!! for those having a problem with the density of the dough...I actually did them overnight. I made the dough and rolled with the topping the night before. While making the dough let the yeast bloom in the warm water first for 10minutes or until foamy. Then proceed with recipe. Proof to double in a warm place (very important). Roll and top with topping and place rolls on a baking sheet. Then in the morning set the oven at 200 degrees with a bowl of water at the bottom. Turned off the oven, add the rolls and let the breads proof to double. Remove from the oven and preheat to 375 degrees. Bake as directed. They weren't dense at all and were light and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Loved the crust, but the actual bread was a little too dense fro my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This recipe is great! It tastes just like the bread I buy at the bakery.Its the only recipe I found that doesn't use lard and that's great.My husband and I loved it!I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Horrible never doing them again after trying them twice,dont waste your time on this conchas there like rocks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaof2grl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Too dense for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Soft, sweet and fragrant. We will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Tasted great, just like the conchas I used to buy at Mexican stores in Arizona. I love conchas and coffee for breakfast, and this recipe hits the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maggie
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I thought that this was pretty easy and love the buttery taste of the topping. The recipe calls for 4 cups of flour, but I only used 3 cups. I did let it rest for 10 minutes before rolling into balls. After reading reviews I decided to use 3 teaspoons of yeast and for those of you who don't know how to measure 3/8 cup of sugar, I googled it and it said use 1/2 cup minus 2 tablespoons. I did take the advice from a review that said to heat the milk, which I did for about 20 seconds. Please watchful of the time!! I did 15 minutes and it was starting to over cook I think 12-13 mins will work. It was cooked all the way threw also. Will make again thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pismo Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lusby, Maryland, USA
Photo by peanutswife
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love making these! They flavor is excellent and they're a lot of fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peanutswife
Home Town: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States