Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
These were wonderful! Never having eaten one before, I was trying to make something from my husbands childhood and he said these were better than he remembered. Our neighbors also went crazy for them-will be making these again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Good recipe. I took the advice of some reviewers and broke it down into smaller rolls. In total, I had 18 and they were plenty big. It was cool out the day that I tried the recipe, so I used the oven at 100 degrees to keep my dough warm while it raised. The end product was a little denser than I had hoped, but the topping was delicious. In order to shorten cooking time, I plan to try making rolls out of my favorite boxed hot roll mix and using that as the base for the sweet topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess *E*
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I thought this recipe was pretty easy, but it took me three times to make it right. ha ha... Couple of changes I made: 3 teaspoons of yeast let it rest for 15 mins. Used low fat milk. Let my dough rise in preheated oven 200. (but of course make sure the oven is off, before putting your dough in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess *E*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montebello, California, USA
Living In: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Wow! i tried this recipe and it came out good! thank a lot! its the first bread recipe i have tried!! it only took 15 minutes to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This recipe is amazing! No more buying bread at the Panderia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I am updating my original review to 5 stars. My hubby had told me the first time I made them they were better than any bakery. I thought he was being sweet. But, I made them today and sent 2 home with a Mexican man who is doing some tile work for us. He actually called my husband when he got home and told him they tasted like what he used to eat in Mexico and both his wife and kids absolutely loved them! That made me feel pretty good since I am just a white girl...lol. I only made one change to the recipe---I added an extra egg yolk. I will be making again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Easy to make, but didn't care for the dough or the topping. To me, I think the dough should have been slightly sweeter and less dense. The topping was okay, but the texture was a bit odd. Put together, it was pretty flavorless. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SELUNE13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This recipe was OK. Added the extra yeast, warmed the milk and the bread was OK. bread is too "white bread/doughy". the topping however, was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
MELISSA* Is there any way you can have the recipe for BISCOCHITOS??? They are cinnamon and sugar cookies. If so PLEASE POST. Thank you. I warmed water and milk together in glass measuring cup for about 15-20 seconds in microwave. 115 degrees, then placed in bread pan machine with softened butter. Just made dough in bread machine. Took 1 hour 20 minutes. Took out and kneaded a few times, then divided into 12 pieces, The topping was mixed by handmixer and was crumbly. Put together and made a long rope, then divided. For each topping, I pressed sugar dough onto cutting board and flatten with palm and then sliced a shell pattern with sharp knife, then placed on dough. Rested for 45 min. Baked for 20 minutes. (Next time for 14 minutes). I used vanilla extract for the topping. Shared with neighbors, and they loved them. Hubby really liked them too. Thank you for sharing a great and fantastic recipe. For those who have problems with the dough or topping, use real butter. Make sure water and milk are 115 degrees. This is the difference in results. ***UPDATE****Made again only using 3 cups of all-purpose flour with 1 cup 100% whole wheat with the addition of 1 Tbsp. of Wheat Gluten. Baked for 14 minutes and perfect timing. Came out light and airy. I did make smaller conchas. About 2 dozen. These came out lighter and airy than with all-purpose flour. Either way, both ways came out delicious and fantastic. This is a KEEPER RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I consider myself a breakfast master. I am always looking for new dishes and ways to spruce up the classics. This sweet bread looks and tastes beautiful. It is also simple and impressive. I was very pleased with the results. Next time i'll make them a little smaller, I think a smaller size would be easier for me to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States