Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Yes, I have been wanting Conchas, the way I remember them, I will not change anything. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I used a 1/4 oz pkg of rapid rise yeast and let the dough rise for 10-15 minutes while I was making the topping, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Also, they were done baking in 15 minutes. These were easy and fun to make and taste great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I'm rather inexperienced with yeast breads, and these turned out wonderfully anyway! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darby B.
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was the first time making them and I thought they turned out real good. Took a lot of time to make them, but well worth it. I used shortning instead of butter, and added coco powder for one of the toppings. I will totally make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
These were good. Not quite what I was expecting but good. They're like a light, fluffy bread with a sweet topping. I found that topping does get stale quickly so they don't keep for too long. The men of the family ate them up very quickly, but most of us girls didn't care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
follow the instructions and you can't go wrong. They came out awesome- even with my 3 year olds "help" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I thought these were great. My husband who I was making them for (and who is Hispanic) wasn't as impressed with them as I was. He said they were good, but not what he was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
they were so yummy! the best conchas i've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I must not have made these correctly...not quite what I expected. My topping didnt mold correctly into shape and the bottoms burned at 20 minutes. They are good, just not perfect. I will try again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very authentic taste! I made some adaptions with the condensed milk, which I substituted it with soy milk, and it turned out just fine. Suggestion: I think that there is too much topping, so you do not have to use it all... also, I do not know if I didn't measure correctly, or if the weather in my kitchen was dry, but the topping was a bit to dry to form. I will definitely make these again. A triumph! Better than at the store. Of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States