Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I have tried this recipe several times and all times the dough did not rise. What am I doing wrong? I live in Wyoming, high altitude and have adjusted for the altitude and also followed the direction exactly, neither make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Its okay. I did end up splitting it up into smaller pieces so that they were more roll size. I think I just can't get past the fact that its not like a sweet bread I was expecting. Past the topping there was very little sweet involved. I'm not looking for a sugary sweet where only 5 year olds who aren't being supervised would eat it, I'm just looking for a little more oomph. I'll just sticking with Babka for now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Dvorak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Its was amasing amasing I loved it it was prety easy And delicious keep up the good work It really was good hey keep up the Great work every one loved the choncas I had guest over and they loved it I love the resipe it is amasing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great flavor but not nearly as fluffy as I would hope. Tried to use warm water and extra yeast and proof for an extra two hours in a warm oven but still stayed sorta gummy. I will still keep experimenting considering the delicious flavor! The hubby ate 2 immediately and loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This recipe is the best. The only thing I changed was the topping. It came out too hard, so I did a different recipe for the topping. It is very easy to make and compared to other recipes it doesn't take as long to make and cook. I also make mine smaller so it's even faster to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The vanilla was great, but the cinnamon was too strong, maybe just 1 tsp. My kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Conchas came out dense and disappointing with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made these yesterday. I followed the instructions exactly, only adding some extra rise time, about an hour + 20 minutes for the initial rise and an hour for the second. When I make these again (which I definitely will!)I would change the vanilla topping. Either do all cinnamon, or add a tsp or so of extra flour to the vanilla half. The vanilla topping was just a bit too soft and when I baked the rolls, the topping kind of melted off a little and burned on the pan. Also reduce the cooking time to 15 minutes, 20 was slightly too long and bottoms were a little too dark. All in all a great recipe I can't wait to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Orlock
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I split them up into 16 portions, but other than that I followed the recipe and they are amazing. They may not look as good this time as they will next, but no one will care about that tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
The bread is too dense and the bottom started to brown within 10 minutes. When I took them out, they still hadn't fully baked through. The one thing I did add was food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States