Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
The vanilla was great, but the cinnamon was too strong, maybe just 1 tsp. My kids enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Conchas came out dense and disappointing with this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I made these yesterday. I followed the instructions exactly, only adding some extra rise time, about an hour + 20 minutes for the initial rise and an hour for the second. When I make these again (which I definitely will!)I would change the vanilla topping. Either do all cinnamon, or add a tsp or so of extra flour to the vanilla half. The vanilla topping was just a bit too soft and when I baked the rolls, the topping kind of melted off a little and burned on the pan. Also reduce the cooking time to 15 minutes, 20 was slightly too long and bottoms were a little too dark. All in all a great recipe I can't wait to share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Orlock
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I split them up into 16 portions, but other than that I followed the recipe and they are amazing. They may not look as good this time as they will next, but no one will care about that tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
The bread is too dense and the bottom started to brown within 10 minutes. When I took them out, they still hadn't fully baked through. The one thing I did add was food coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Perika
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Oh my sweet goodness these conchitas are so good!! Being Mexican I was a little skeptic about the outcome but with all the positive reviews and yummy looking pictures I decided to give it a try and I'm so glad I did. They taste like home :) I decided to make the topping with chocolate instead of cinnamon and my family devoured them. The vanilla topping came out a little weird I think it's because it needed a little more flour to thicken up but other than that they're perfect. New Addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trish O'Connor
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
These turned out beautifully!! Light and fluffy, and delicious. I'm relatively new to baking and trying all kinds of things. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish O'Connor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
So time consuming but everyone who had them said they were great! I liked the cinnamon topping more than the vanilla. maybe because the vanilla extract i have is bourbon vanilla... not a great taste. I loved them and will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by punkim30
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Amazing! I could eat ten in one sitting. They are the perfect balance of soft and crunchy. I add a little milk to the cinnamon topping to make it come together like the vanilla one. I burned my tongue because I couldn't wait long enough for them to cool before eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
The vanilla ones were way to sweet for my taste but the cinnamon ones were amazing. Fairly simple recipe and easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States