Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did mine with chicken breast and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Wow! Thanks for the recipe it was very helpful and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Cynthia this was OUTSTANDING! I made this last night for our New Years Eve hors' devours table and I was very surprised by the outcome! Most of the conch fritters I have had at restaurants were more like hush puppies. These had a unique shape, great texture and just the right mix of all ingredients. This will go into our favorites cookbook binder for sure! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
Yes I've died and gone to heaven... absolutely wonderful!! I actually had some crab too in the freezer so I mixed up some batter to use with the crab.. HUGE HIT too!! The only thing I didn't use was the green pepper and that's only because I actually don't care for it and the sauce is good but I just ate these babies by the handful so I kind of missed out on the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This came out better than restaurant conch fritters!! I made a couple of changes, I used 1/4 cup corn flour and 1/2 cup all purpose flour, used 2 cups of conch (be sure to chop them up real small, I chopped them up too big), omitted onion and bell pepper. This came out so good. I can't wait to cook them for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Fritters were a wonderful consistency and very easy. I used crab as the meat and left out the green peppers. I had to double the recipe, as wanted to use it as a main entree. Even doubled, it yielded only 6 fist sized fritters. Threw in some canned corn and felt I added a lot of the spices. They could have used more, maybe next time will try with some jalepenos, or a hotter sauce. Will do again and want to try different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. After a couple trips to the Bahamas I was craving conch fritters and stumbled upon this recipe. So I took a chance and tried it... tastes just like what we had in the Bahamas! I'm a little heavy handed on the spice but all my friends love these. By the way, it tastes just as good with crabmeat. Around here (suburban NY) I can't find fresh conch or crab, but I have found canned versions of both. These fritters are soooo addictive and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is DELICIOUS!!! it's hard to find authentic recipes like this unless your from the islands but this one is spot on. Being from the USVI, this is one of my favorite Sunday recipes and your recipe is exact to mine exept I serve my fritters with a mango and papaya chutney dipping sauce and my family loves it every Sunday along with some stew conch and rice. Here is my version; ) I do everything stated in this recipe except you might have to add a bit more flour and milk and I also add 1/2 cup of cornmeal. I also use puerto rican sweet peppers minced instead of bell peppers and if I so use bell peppers it's minced red bell pepper. I also add a packet of sazon And/or a boullibon cube for that added flavor and my choice of seasoning salt is lawrys. I never leave out the celery peppers or onions what is an island dish without them!!!!! Instead for those who don't like the "crunchy" taste it gives the fritter mincing the celery and peppers and chopping the onion real small( not minced) then frying the batter on low heat will cook the batter thoroghly and soften the veggies, it will take longer but the flavor is worth it!!! I also add a little chopped cilantro for some extra flavor then serve up with some mango papay chutney and enjoy( I've never tried the dipping sauce recipe.) also we pressure cook our conch for 30-60 min. in the islands or boil for 1-2 hrs in a pot with water and tsp of vinegar. Some also tenderize it before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
this is a fab recipes - my husband is from the Bahamas and LOVES IT! Because here in NJ Conch is very hard to find, I have used shrimp cleaned and diced into small pieces with all the other ingredients I left the same. I can't wait to make this for my friends 'International Party' this coming weekend!! Thanks~ Susanne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is an awesome recipe including the dipping sauce. The sauce could be used with other seafood dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States