Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Yummy! We used shrimp & followed the recipe exactly. Fun to make & even more fun to eat! The sauce was the perfect accompaniment too! Thanks, Cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci Purvis Maddox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
Yummy! I substituted clams for the conch. Didn't have any green peppers, and they came out great! The hardest part was prepping the fresh clams. Otherwise this recipe is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Excellent recipe. Perfect batter. I went 1/2 flour and then !/2 cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I made these and substituted in Gator meat. Came out AMAZING! down south at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefZach

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is an awesome recipe including the dipping sauce. The sauce could be used with other seafood dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
this is a fab recipes - my husband is from the Bahamas and LOVES IT! Because here in NJ Conch is very hard to find, I have used shrimp cleaned and diced into small pieces with all the other ingredients I left the same. I can't wait to make this for my friends 'International Party' this coming weekend!! Thanks~ Susanne :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars because it is DELICIOUS!!! it's hard to find authentic recipes like this unless your from the islands but this one is spot on. Being from the USVI, this is one of my favorite Sunday recipes and your recipe is exact to mine exept I serve my fritters with a mango and papaya chutney dipping sauce and my family loves it every Sunday along with some stew conch and rice. Here is my version; ) I do everything stated in this recipe except you might have to add a bit more flour and milk and I also add 1/2 cup of cornmeal. I also use puerto rican sweet peppers minced instead of bell peppers and if I so use bell peppers it's minced red bell pepper. I also add a packet of sazon And/or a boullibon cube for that added flavor and my choice of seasoning salt is lawrys. I never leave out the celery peppers or onions what is an island dish without them!!!!! Instead for those who don't like the "crunchy" taste it gives the fritter mincing the celery and peppers and chopping the onion real small( not minced) then frying the batter on low heat will cook the batter thoroghly and soften the veggies, it will take longer but the flavor is worth it!!! I also add a little chopped cilantro for some extra flavor then serve up with some mango papay chutney and enjoy( I've never tried the dipping sauce recipe.) also we pressure cook our conch for 30-60 min. in the islands or boil for 1-2 hrs in a pot with water and tsp of vinegar. Some also tenderize it before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was really great I added cornmeal & parsley flakes with the flour, I also tenderized the conch with a meat mallet prior to cutting it to small pieces so they conch will be tender. The only reason I am giving this recipe 4stars is because the sauce was just okay but the conch fritters were excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay104kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. After a couple trips to the Bahamas I was craving conch fritters and stumbled upon this recipe. So I took a chance and tried it... tastes just like what we had in the Bahamas! I'm a little heavy handed on the spice but all my friends love these. By the way, it tastes just as good with crabmeat. Around here (suburban NY) I can't find fresh conch or crab, but I have found canned versions of both. These fritters are soooo addictive and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Fritters were a wonderful consistency and very easy. I used crab as the meat and left out the green peppers. I had to double the recipe, as wanted to use it as a main entree. Even doubled, it yielded only 6 fist sized fritters. Threw in some canned corn and felt I added a lot of the spices. They could have used more, maybe next time will try with some jalepenos, or a hotter sauce. Will do again and want to try different types of fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaus2000

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States