Conch Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Ingris Hernandez
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Restaurant quality! Loved them so much I made the twice in the same week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingris Hernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Made these for dinner tonight and they were very good… but we've had a lot of good fritters in the Caribbean and we're a little spoiled. I did leave the celery out because that just didn't sound right (couldn't think of any I've ever had that had celery in therm). Like others have suggested, I used about 1/2 cornmeal and 1/2 all purpose flour. I think next time I will try self-rising flour -- that's what I use in my hush puppies and it yields a nice, fluffy hush puppy… these fritters were flat, not round and fluffy. We didn't care for the sauce at all, but preferred to just use cocktail sauce. Overall, it's a very good recipe that curbed our craving for our favorite caribbean treat… but I will try tweaking it a little more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YYJValerie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Yes, I tried the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These are excellent. I substituted 1/4cup of flour with corn meal. Also, I used self rising flour instead of all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Everyone complemented me on these! And everyone was grabbing for more! This was a recipe that needed little to no "tweeking." My only advice is to really pound out the conch so it is nice and tender. I also threw the veggies in the food processor and gave it a few spins and then the conch just to add nice smooth textures. People complimented me on how they didnt have any rough nuggets of conch like some restaurants the have visited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I sailed all over the Caribbean and had conch fritters in a lot of different Islands. This a really fine recipe.I give it a five star rating. I did however add red bell pepper to it and about a 1/4 cup of seasoned bread crumbs and it was still Delicious. Added it to my Favorites. Thanks Cynthia. JPohlmann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Better than mile marker 105 in Key Largo. The only thing is that I only use red onion and mix red and green pepper. Really adds umph! To make a thicker batter so it doesn't drip all over the place is I use 1 cup flour and 1 medium egg. Very thick and easy to use my cookie scoopers. I mix all dry ingredients together and add veggies and filler (crab, ground chicken, chopped shrimp, conch) into dry mix before adding liquids. Much easier to get uniform mix when doing this. All in all, this recipe is fantastic on its own. Enjoy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljrus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This recipe was awesome! I substituted the celery with cilantro and it came out fantastic. I also used my meat grinder to grind the conch along with the green pepper, onions and garlic. It gave it a more even texture. Thank you so much for sharing this. It will surely remain one of my family's favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
This was absolutely perfect. I don't have conch where I live, but I wanted a conch recipe to adapt for periwinkles. It was perfectly complimentary to the periwinkle flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Yummy! We used shrimp & followed the recipe exactly. Fun to make & even more fun to eat! The sauce was the perfect accompaniment too! Thanks, Cynthia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Cauliflower Fritters

See how easy it is to turn cauliflower into delicious fritters.

Puerto Rican Appetizers: Tostones Rellenos

What's cooking in St. Louis? Four delicious appetizers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States