Complete Pancake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
After a few adaptations, this recipe is a keeper in my kitchen. First I added 1/2 cup sugar and 2 tsp. baking soda. For the flour, I use 3 cups wholemeal, 2 cups all-purpose and 1 cup blended oatmeal. My family and visitors love them. The last batch, I didn't mix the butter, so I can keep it in my pantry. I add approx. 1 tbsp. oil or melted butter per cup of mix with the water and egg just before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Church pancake breakfast special. I use this recipe to make scratch pancakes to raise money for special projects. Divide 4 cups of the dry ingredients into zip bags so you don't have to measure again. To each batch, stir in 3 c of milk and 3 eggs (add more water/milk to get the right consistency). I don't need to know how many are coming. The dry bag ingredients can be frozen till the next breakfast. To me, this is superior to mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
These were good! Because of food allergies, I substituted butter for the shortening and didn't add the egg. Also, I added a little sugar to the mix for my sweet tooth. I wasn't sure if the butter would work, but it was good-- they didn't need butter on top. I used 1 1/3 cup of mix to 1 cup of water and this made 10 pancakes. Thanks for the recipe. Now my daughter can enjoy pancakes and the rest of us like them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
It is nice to see a pancake mix without sugar. I am not a fan of sweet pancakes at all so I have never been happy with the "just add water" type of mix you can buy. This mix is nearly as easy. I used buttermilk powder instead of regular dry milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
I have to admit that I am a pancake cheater...I always buy the powder in a box. It is one of the few things that I cheat on. This was very good. They did turn out a bit thick. I may take the advice of another reviewer and hand them out as jar mixes for the holidays. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Perhaps I did something wrong. The pancakes came out heavy and flat (not fluffy). However, the taste was wonderful. If anyone knows of a "trick" to get them to be more light, please let me know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Tastes fine, but since we always make them from scratch - they were just pancakes. A little to thick, could be lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This is so wonderful, i made it for my husband, and he loves it. I am going to use it as a xmas gift for my relatives: "Complete Pancake in a Jar!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I didn't use shortening and replaced the dry milk with whole milk. I also added vanilla, sugar, and cinnamon and they came out wonderful. But this is a good recipe to add too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
great to have on hand...i did add the baking soda 2tsp and the 1/2sugar as suggested. I also added 2tbsp of cocoa pwdr. I also went with the butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ssh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States