Complete Pancake Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This is old school. I had thoughts about the sugar not being there. These came out perfect with the syrup. The syrup is sweet enough. great recipe. The shortening brings out the delicate flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
i ran out of store bought and had to find a quick mix fast. maybe its just me but this is the best mix i have ever eaten. i left out the shortning that sounds gross to me. i will never buy store bought again. my overnight guests could not believe it was this good compared to the store bought that was my first batch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
These are a little tasteless. But they were also easy to up the healthy by using half whole wheat flour, butter instead of shortening, and dry buttermilk mix. The "fast blueberry sauce" that is here on allrecipes (along with a different waffle recipe) was a great topping I would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
As good as any bought, packaged mix I've ever used. By the way, several have mentioned no sugar being in recipe. Why would you add sugar to mix and then pour maple syrup over them? HMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Just like Mom's and almost as easy as store-bought mix. Better flavor than mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
This was good, but I added the sugar as suggested by other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
After a few adaptations, this recipe is a keeper in my kitchen. First I added 1/2 cup sugar and 2 tsp. baking soda. For the flour, I use 3 cups wholemeal, 2 cups all-purpose and 1 cup blended oatmeal. My family and visitors love them. The last batch, I didn't mix the butter, so I can keep it in my pantry. I add approx. 1 tbsp. oil or melted butter per cup of mix with the water and egg just before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I love this recipe. I always have some made up in the fridge. My husband likes it with blueberries, my son likes it with chocolate chips. A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This was a rather odd recipe. I like to make pancake mix ahead and store if not used so the shortening didn't really work for that purpose. But, as for the recipe as written, I do think that the recipe was missing approximately 2 TBS of sugar and could have used another egg. This just wasn't for us. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Definiatly something missing from this - my guess was sugar. I added about 2 TBL to the dry mix but didn't seem to make a difference, need to add more though. I did find that this mix is great for apple pancakes w/ cinnamon & sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States