Company Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
We had this with sliced Honey White Loaves and Chunky Applesauce, both from this site, and it was a very good "comfort food" dinner--the potatoes are delicious. I subbed mushroom soup for the potato soup, onion powder instead of onions (too lazy to chop), half-and-half for the milk, only used 1/8 tsp salt, added 2 Tablespoons bacon bits and about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese--and I mixed the cheddar cheese in with the entire mixture with none added to the top. I couldn't taste the dill weed so will add more next time. I like this recipe because it doesn't call for a half stick of butter! Very good; I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This was pretty good. I agree weith the previous reviewer that you can't taste the dill so either up the amount or leave it out. I would also put 1 1/2 c. cheese into the mixture and leave the last 1/2 c. for the last 20 minutes of baking. It also did not take 1 1/2 hours to bake. One hour is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!!! This was sooo good. I couldn't stop eating it and my husband is normally very picky about what he likes and he LOVED this recipe. It was so easy and cheap as well which I always look for when I make something new. The only thing I might try next time which my husband recommended is to grilled the onions before I put them in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I took two batches of this to a church picnic/potluck and when I went back to get seconds it was GONE! I did make a few changes though. I used cream of chicken and cream of mushroom soup instead of celery and potato soup, and I also used about 4 cloves of garlic, and a little more cheese. I didn't use the dill weed since I didn't have any, but it wasn't lacking in taste. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I am going to start by saying the only reason this recipe recieved 1 star from me was because it was easy to make. It tasted like celery and potato soup straight from the can with 1/8 of a teaspoon of dill-that you can't taste anyway!! If you want a truly awesome potato dish try making the Cheesy Ranch Potato Bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I made this recipe for my family, it was delicious. It received rave reviews. It was also very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gladstone, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I have been using this for 2 years and everyone loves it! I don't eat onion so I add onion powder, and I also add cheese at the end of cooking. Also adding real bacon bits is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Extra creamy w/the 2 cans of cream soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This was so good! I wasn't sure which kind of potatoes to use, so I opted to use 2 bags of the OreIda original roasted potatoes, I used a can of cream of mushroom and a can of cream of celery soup. I also increased the milk to soupcan ful, and added 1/2 lb of shaved ham. This was so good even reheated as it males a large pan! Will definitely make this again. Easy and a real "comfort food"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is great! I make it every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas as it is always requested by family.The only thing I do different is add 1 to 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese into the potatoes as I like mine really cheesy and the sharp cheddar gives it a little tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Fachamatta's Famous Potatoes

See the amazing story behind Joseph Crecca’s famous “Fachamatta Potatoes.”

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States