Company Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I have made a similar recipe using Creas of Chicken soup for years. I always thought mine was so good it couldn't be improved on. My husband has informed me differently. Last night was the first time he ever passed up second on the meat so he could have more potatoes. I guess I will have to change my recipe now. I only made half a recipe so instead of throwing away two half cans of soup I used only one can of Cream of Potato soup. I also really liked the hint of dill in the backgroup. I added a little extra cheese because I like my potatoes extra cheesey. I thought they had great flavor and so did my husband obviously. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
It tasted like potato and celery soup straight from the can with an 1/8 of a teaspoon of dill-That you can't even taste anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vitalismom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warren, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Great sidedish recipe!! Although I made as is, I think you could easily add some red/green chopped bell peppers and maybe even some fresh mushrooms. This could even be made into a maindish if you added some chopped ham or chicken. I'm not sure if the milk is neccessary but it was still very good and we all agree that it should be made again! Thanks Maureen for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
The only thing I changed was mixing the cheese in with the potatoes before baking; otherwise, I didn't change a thing and it was delicious--we had it with chicken last night; we're having the leftovers (because it made a LOT!) with with steak tonight. Thanks for sharing the recipe, Maureen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
For anyone new to this recipe, add the cheese with the rest of the ingredients, put your mixture into a greased baking dish, then sprinkle the top with extra grated cheddar, as well as a nice sprinkle of grated parmesan cheese. Bake as directed and be sure to check your potatoes at the one hour mark. Not all ovens bake the same so a quick check at one hour could save you from burnt potatoes. Once your potatoes are baked, you will have a wonderful tasty side dish to please your family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
These potatoes are absolutly delcious! without a doubt this recipe is a keeper. However, next time I will try cooking covered with foil for 30 minutes then remove foil and cook until browned. (my guess about another 30 minutes) A+ recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmont, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This recipe is quite delicious if made properly. I have a similar recipe tht only calls for 1-2 cans of condensed cream of 'something' soup. Depends on the amount of hashbrowns you use. My favorite is cream of mushroom. I don't add too much milk or dried dill, however I do add a pinch of cayenne pepper, and some seasoning salt instead of regular salt. I also mix in a cup of grated sharp or old cheddar cheese into the hashbrown mix, as well as a generous amount of cheese on the top. I have yet to come across any of my guests to complain about this dish. Usually I am asked for the recipe. By the way, thanks Maureenburr for sharing your mum's recipe. That makes it even more special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This is pretty good. I think that chicken instead of potato soup would have given it more flavor. I omitted the dill. I think also that sauteeing the onions might have been more to our liking. Using Healthy Request soups and low fat sour cream helps with the unbelievable fat content listed. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This is my new favorite side dish! Only changes I made were to use green onion instead of yellow, and throw in a little garlic powder (which I do to almost everything), and I halved the recipe, so only used 1 can of cream of celery soup and no cream of potato. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
These were not a big hit with my potato loving family. I think there's just too much other "stuff" beside the potatoes -- it's a little bland (which could easily be corrected with some additional spices) -- if I try again, I will use less soup and sour cream --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States