Company Liver with Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Five +++ for this one, the only thing I didn't have was any mushrooms, so I added more onions and some red wine so it was rich. I'll be making this again, thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Wow! liver I did not have the drudgery of DREDGEry. Thank-you for a tasty alternative. I did add some bacon, some habits are hard to break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
One of the best liver dishes I have ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Simple, tasty, tender and no left overs. Will fix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richgrove, California, USA
Living In: Lytle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
i don't like liver&onions.i made this for my wife and she loved it.great recipe!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
This is exactly how i have always made liver and onions but i usually omit the mushrooms. Another key trick- soak your liver in milk or buttermilk overnight if you are using older liver, veal liver can be used without soaking. I garnish with fresh chopped dill and serve with mashed or roasted potatoes - this is a very popular Russian/Eastern European dish!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I'm always amazed how my palate has changed with age. I used to hate liver as a kid, but now I just love it and this recipe was a wonderful addition to my recipe box. Even my daughter loved the liver!!!! and that's saying something. A recipe that gets kids to eat liver. The addition of the sour cream and mushrooms were a plus!!! This really cut into the strong liver taste and made it more mild, but added some depth to the flavor. I did add 1/4 cup of dry red wine as suggested by another reviewer and this just enhanced the taste even more! I will definitely be making this again for my mother and mother-in-law I know they will love it. Thanks. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
my daughter hate liver and with this recipe it was a big hitt!!!! However, instead of mushrooms w/sour cream i used lipton's onion soup w/sourcream.. still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
At 28 I LOVE liver and onions but this recipe is the best I've ever had (and I thought I made a killer l&o). I also added red wine (highly recommend!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idonteatblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape May, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thill40397
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
We omitted the sour cream, but added more mushrooms and onions. Found the meal to be quite easy to prepare and very healthy. Actually drove 75 miles to share the meal with a friend who was not feeling well. It went over well…brought back lots of ole school memories. We kept it simple…liver/mashed red potatoes/green beans/glass of wine…We made HAPPY PLATES…LOL…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thill40397

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States