Company Liver with Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I am giving this 4 stars only because I am used to eating frozen dinners in the microwave. My wife used to make liver for us and I loved it. Since I am alone now I am trying different things (easy things) to make instead of Hungry Man or Stouffers. My daughter suggested this site and I have to give Allrecipes 5 stars for their help. The most important thing I needed was what to use; a frying pan, oven bake or broil. But this recipe is something I think I can handle. I must also admit that when you sweat your a - - off making something fresh, it taste soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
One of the best liver dishes I have ever eaten. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
my daughter hate liver and with this recipe it was a big hitt!!!! However, instead of mushrooms w/sour cream i used lipton's onion soup w/sourcream.. still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Wow! liver I did not have the drudgery of DREDGEry. Thank-you for a tasty alternative. I did add some bacon, some habits are hard to break.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This has been a favorite since 1968, when I found it in a cookbook that came with the stunning set of pans I bought a few months after graduating h.s. (and still use!). My folks and I happen to like liver, but my mom quickly discovered that even people who "can't stand" it ask "What is this and may I have the recipe?" It's important to NOT overcook the liver. Most people cook it till it's shoe leather, which is probably why people can't stand the stuff—shoe leather is never tasty. Reduced fat sour cream works, but fat-free not so much. Don't let boil the sauce or it separates. Serve the sauce and onions over hot rice. Add brightly colored veggies—salad, broccoli, crisp fresh green beans—and oh my my what a delicious, and vitamin rich, banquet fit for your best guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
My husband and I wish that we could give half stars because we would have rather given this dish a 4 1/2 star rating. My husband likes liver and I merely tolerate it, but this dish was absolutely delicious. I followed the recipe to a T and the liver was so tender and the sauce was great over brown rice. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
Five +++ for this one, the only thing I didn't have was any mushrooms, so I added more onions and some red wine so it was rich. I'll be making this again, thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I put a few twists on this recipe I cooked about 1 lb of liver. I minced about 3 large cloves of garlic and sauted them with my onions. I used butter but I think in the future I will use olive oil and save the calorites in butter for somtething when I cannot substitute butter. I quickly sauted the liver as it was not that thick and I did not want to overcook it. I used a 4 oz can of button mushrooms along with the juice and about 1/3 cup light red wine. I decided to use 1 can of mushroom soup (undiluted) and only about 3 large Tbs of sour cream. I also added a few dashes of gravy bouquet for good flavor and browning color. Only a few dashes of worcestershire sauce as I did not want to overwhelm the gravy bouquet flavor. I felt my gravy was not thick enough and I had leftover mashed pots that I was going to put the liver over, but decided to add them to the liver mixture. Hint: I could have used another large onion that would have improved the texture of this dish plus more interest. All in all I think it turned out very good and will fix it again and it is probably one of the best liver dishes I have ever had or made. Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I wish I could give this 6 stars. This is the best liver and onions recipe i'v tasted. I always wanted to find something close to what my mother made and this is it. Thank you for bringing back memories. My mom would be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is a great recipe. I didn't have mushrooms or wine so I added about half a can of cream of mushroom soup to the sour cream before mixing with the liver and onions. I also soaked my liver for about an hour with water and salt to get some of the blood out and help tenderize it... I think it was just wonderful. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States