Comforting Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
Like a lot of other reviewers, I was hesitant to try this recipe because of the ginger, but trust me, the ginger is what makes this recipe special. Even though I felt that I had screwed up the noodles several times, they turned out to be pretty fool-proof. I did make one significant alteration to the original recipe -- I used three times as many bouillon cubes as the recipe called for because I found the broth to be a bit bland without it (this may have been because the bouillon cubes I had were pretty old). Aside from that, this recipe is pretty close to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Great recipe. I agree with suggestions that others included in their recipes: Rosemary. Next round I may cheat and use different noodles - the ones i used form recipe didn't quite turn out how I wanted. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephlynnras

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Really good and it works. I cheated and used egg noodles because that is what I was used to. I also added chicken broth instead of bouillon. I don't drink milk, so I added almond milk instead but it was delicious and it cured my cold. I also threw in a jalapeno because I like spicy and i was really trying to heal myself.. Back story- I got a cold from a coworker, but since I run an office, I don't have the "luxury" of taking a sick day. So I went on here to find a recipe that was easy and had healing properties (like ginger) and I made this soup while being really sick. Sneezing between cutting the celery.NEXT DAY I was feeling better,less rundown. It was amazing and I decided to make it again today because I feel the sniffles coming and it is freezing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious! Good flavour. Added onions in, and used store bought dried noodles (alphabets and macaroni!) to save effort. Added more veggies to make it more chunky, love love loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
All I can say is.....YUMMMMM! Such a warm and comforting soup! My kids each had two full bowls and could not stop raving about it (even my picky "I don't like chicken" child).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Seriously Lovely! Two thumbs. The flavor is complex but nourishing. I love the ginger added. I made noodles for the first time. Fantastic! Super easy. Dense but good flavor... maybe i'll have to invest in the pasta attachment for my KitchenAid. Enjoy!! You can't go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenet_B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Fantastic! I made the recipe as is, but next time will use a pasta maker so the noodles will be thinner. Next time, I'll add more salt too. Also, I'll try adding rosemary, which another reviewer reommended. My 13-year old daughter ate 3 bowls of this! Thank you for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keena_mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
All I can say is WOW! Like other reviewers, I was a bit hesitant about the ginger. It really makes this soup pop. I cheated on the noodles. I used Reamer's frozen egg noodles. Everyone in my house is sick, including me, so it was one less step. I'm SURE that the home made noodles are even more fantastic in this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LabLover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used a whole chicken and placed everything in crock pot added 2 bay leaves and some fresh parsley once chicken was cooked I took ginger and shredded chicken and placed back into crockpot I left celery and carrots in pot. Made noodles and used my kitchen aid mixer to cut flat noodles and placed in baggy in refer until dinner time. I didn't feel it was necessary to thicken with cornstartch because the flour from homemade noodles seemed to do the job. Great for a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
No doubt about it, this was delicious. I did have to make substitutions, but I don't think it strayed from the integrity of the recipe. I didn't have bone-in chicken to make a quick stock, but I did have enough frozen turkey stock and two boneless chicken breasts to use in its place so I just added everything in steps 1-3 to my stock and let her simmer. I don't think it would be all that different if you started from scratch with some canned stock, or even bouillon cubes because we devoured the soup on day one, and overnight, the noodles soaked up all of the soup broth. For day two, I made some chicken bouillon broth and added it to the leftovers; it was still delicious nonetheless! I didn't have any leek, so I substituted yellow onion. It may not have been fancy, but is sufficed sure enough. The addition of ginger had me skeptical, but it added a distinct but subtle flair that I cannot recommend more. Stick it in there! Lastly, the homemade noodles were incomparable. They really added the homemade touch and I would certainly take the time again especially if my intent was for a comforting meal or I was cooking for friends. Well done Shasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azraelsilent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States