Comfort Soup a la Montreal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I am the recipe submitter and would like to say that the sausage called for should NOT have the casings removed, that is not how I submitted it. Also I'd like to add that the amount of kale may seem like lots, however like spinach, it shrinks down quite a bit. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I added some heavy cream at the end of preparing this soup and found the dish absolutely superb - even after having froze the main body of the soup - still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Excellent soup... I used the ingredients as noted in the recipe but changed the process in cooking so that it was all within the same pot. Still worked out great! Nice flavors, great for a rainy night in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhyannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Oh, my heavens! This is delicious! I adapted mine to make it vegetarian with Morningstar sausages and vegetable broth. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Love this recipe. Fast, tasty and easy to alter to suit everyones taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good! We got a large bunch of kale from a local farmer and didn't really know what to do with it! I used green onion b/c it is what we had on hand, and like another reviewer, I used morningstar sausage crumbles. I did adjust the amounts a bit to avoid a trip to the store : ) 2 large potatoes, a whole bag of sausage crumbles, and vegetable broth (6 cups). I sauteed the about 5 green onions (chopped) in about 2 tbsp. of butter! Definitely would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Love soup anytime and followed directions (didn't take the casing off). I looked at other recipes and I'm glad I found this one. It is now my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
So delicious. Doesn't look the best - my son and his friend took small bowls to start - then they went back for seconds and thirds! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Absolutely awesome soup. This is a family hit. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole B.
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I liked this soup quite a bit. Just spicy enough, but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States