Colossal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
I honestly wouldn't even give this recipe one star...but that is the only option. The cookies turned out awful. Don't let the 5 star reviews fool you. Gross. That pretty much sums it up. I regret eating the one bite I ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
instead of mashing them thin (with the fork), make BALLS, this way they don't go flat. they're GREAT cookies, very chewy, and VERY tasty. everyone loved these. one of the best batch of cookies i've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
My husband and I really loved these cookies. However I added about 1/4 cup of flour after the first batch of cookies came out thin and flat. The second batch came out thicker and held together better. I also did not flatten them with a fork and I only put a tablespoon of dough for each cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
After reading some of the comments about the cookies being "thin and the size of a dinner plate", I decided to make a couple of alterations. First instead of using 1/2 c. butter, I used 1/4 c. butter and 1/4 c. butter flavored Crisco. Then instead of dropping them by 1/4 cup size onto the cookie sheet, I used teaspoons so they'd be bite-size. I know that defeats the purpose of calling them Colossal Cookies. But they were just tasty! Thanks for sharing this recipe with us. (In addition I also used M&M's instead of chocolate chips for a little color.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
"Drop 1/4 cupfuls of batter." I don't think so. I dropped BIG rounded tablespoons onto the cookie sheet. They are chewy and good. Nothing special. Mine came out very thin as well as another reviewer stated. Insted of smooshing them down with a fork, I left the last couple batches just as I had plopped them. Better. Why so thin?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Colossal is an understatement. My first batch was the size of dinner plates. I think I went a little overboard with the batter. Everyone at work loved them still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Easy to make and not bad tasting BUT there needs to be a warning that they come out of the oven the size of dinner plates! Also, the batter spreads so thin that it's hard to remove the cookies from the cookie sheet without it falling apart. Two recommendations: DON'T use 3/4 cup of batter for each cookie (halve it, at least) and drop them on cookie sheet covered with foil - that way they "peel off" when they've cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
The BEST cookie tasting cookie ever. I made two batches and both are hits at work and home. I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2001
These cookies stay chewy for days, and are a big hit for young and old alike. They don't cook as well when using insulated cookie sheets, and the large size of the cookie also makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
This cookie is requested often. They are wonderful cookies with everything you'd want in them. I made them for my office cookie contest and won!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States