Colossal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Fantastic cookies. For a less sweet flavour, I use butter instead of margarine and natural peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Michelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Really good. I flatten with the bottom of my measuring cup and then put M&M's on top (in smiley face design) before they bake. I skip the choc. chips. My stand mixer can barely handle mixing these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinnelon, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Westport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yummy! What a great recipe! The only thing I changed was substituting an entire individual serving cup of applesauce (unsweetened) for the margarine and decreasing the sugar to 2 cups (and i could have even decreased it even further without it hurting the cookie). However, once i mixed the dough, i realized that i had used rolled oats instead of the quick cooking oats (they were the only ones i had) so i let the dough sit in the fridge for a while so that the oats could absorb some moisture and soften up. I then baked them (using a smallish ice cream scoop) and they turned out so soft and delicious. The first tray was undercooked a little, but they had such a lovely melt-in-your-mouth texture, that i wanted the underbake the second batch too, but that one happened to bake perfectly, darnit. But it was still soft and delicious, just not as tender. All in all, a great cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
My sister introduced me to these cookies over a year ago and my Husband loves them! Well, we all do! You have to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefani B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escalon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I just made these this weekend and boy were they ever good. The recipe made a huge batch. I mixed them with my stand mixer and the batter almost spilled over. I brought a bunch to work and they were gone in seconds. I didn't add chocolate chips because my dog has to be able to eat everything I make, otherwise I get the sad, puppy dog face. They were really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is a great cookie. I love that it has no flour in it and they still taste FAB! I cut the amount of brown sugar in half and they were still sweet enough for me...really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kay Lohrer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
The cookies turned out very well, but they're not the best I've ever had. A little bit too chewy for my tastes, but I'm not one to turn down a cookie :) Don't use 1/4 cup of dough per cookie unless you a looking to make a truly huge cookie. I used an ice cream scoop (about 2 tbsp) and they're perfect. Try raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUNNERGIRL924

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I made these to take to a local veterans' home, and they LOVED them! Next time I will make them half-size though. Also, I will probably try raisins instead of the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
My most favoirte cookie of all time. I like to add M & Ms to mine..so darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkdazzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fremantle, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
These are essentially monster cookies, which I love. I agree with others, 1/4 cup levelled is enough, don't flatten them too much. I give it 4 stars because I made two changes: I substituted 1/2 cup mashed bananas for the margarine and used 2 cups packed brown and only 1/2 cup white sugar.I also threw in a tablespoon of ground flax. Wonderful! Also a silicone bakers liner makes removal so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States