Colossal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
One of the best peanut butter & oatmeal cookies I've ever had! They are moist, chewy, and delicious! I used another reviewers suggestion and cut the white and brown sugars to 1 1/4 cups each and I added 1/2 cup of flour. Then I added a mashed banana, 1 tsp salt, and increased chocolate chips to 1 2/3 cups. Instead of 1/4 cup sized balls, I dropped large tablespoon sized balls and cooked for 12 minutes. They turned out perfect. Because I was using a large container of extra chunky peanut butter (2 lb, 8 oz jar), instead of a 16 oz container, I put half the jar in the recipe. So I used about 20 oz of peanut butter and they were great. But I love recipes that are not really sweet and have more of a peanut butter taste. I will definitely continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
It needed salt, but other than that, it was delicious. It was a great way to use up all my extra oatmeal, and since it made a lot, I didn't feel guilty making each cookie really BIG. When I first made them, I was pregnant, and with the amount of eggs and peanut butter, it was a quick and tasty excuse to get protein and satisfy the "I just want a really big cookie" craving. Plus, (as a result of using so much peanut butter) it's one of the few cookie recipes I've found that doesn't way over-do the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
These Were A Bit Too Sweet For My Families Liking And I Found They Had More Of A 'Granola Bar' Texture Then Cookie. Might Try Them Again With ALOT Less Sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by meln353
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Cookies are tasty! Certainly worth making. I agree that there is too much sugar in the recipe, however it is not the sweetness that bothers me, but the fact that you cannot cream the butter and sugar. I will try adding an extra stick of butter next time. The dough does not stand alone, but relies on the oats and peanut butter to hold it together and is fairly gritty. This would be a difficult recipe to play with for sure, but the cookies turn out VERY rich and chewy! Yumm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Really yummy! I reduced white and brown sugar to 1 1/4 cups and added 1/4 cup flour. Just used my cookie scoop to put them on the cookie sheet and didn't flatten at all. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Probably should have read the reviews/recommendations first. Loved the idea of chocolate chip/oats/peanut butter but mine came out flat and I struggled to get them off the cookie sheet. We live in high altitude and I thought maybe this recipe wasn't adjusted for that. I had no idea what to do, decided to add about 1/2 cup flour to the batter, make them smaller-maybe walnut sized, not flatten them and bake 8 3/4" minutes. They're better. I'm a soft cookie person so these adjustments seemed to help. I also did spray my cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
These were exceptionally easy to make and were really quite tasty. However, they were a bit too chewy for my liking, so the next time I will grind half of the oats for a finer texture. I refrigerated the dough and shaped them into 2 dessertspoon sized rounds. I didn't bother flattening them and they didn't spread much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
4 out of 4 people in my house decided that these cookies just weren't that great. I quit after making only about dozen or so. The flavor of these was just off somehow - too much peanut butter maybe? I'm not sure, but being as how our family loves cookies, we know when a recipe isn't to our liking. These weren't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This recipie has been in my family for years but we call them "grandpa's favorite" cookies as my dad loved them!! We use more choc chips and make the cookies smaller. To flaten just dip the bottom of a cup into sugar and press down. Be careful not to overbake they will still appear soft when done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States