Colorful Taco Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I would really have to be desperate to make this again. Prepared exactly as directed using 8" pan. I assumed the mix would rise up and somewhat encompass the meat. Nope (if I had looked at picture, I would have seen that). It doesn't take a genius to figure out baking already cooked taco meat in a 450 oven for 25 minutes results in just one thing. Dried out, burnt meat. Dry dry dry. We're talking Mojave Desert here. The crust was fine, but what's the point in that if the meat is burnt to a crisp??? Well, not burnt to a crisp, but certainly overcooked to an inedible degree. Maybe if it had been baked with the cheese on top, it would have protected the meat somewhat, but I'll never know. Sorry Charlie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
tasty, simple and easy to adjust to what I have on hand. Since i live alone i cook it up then cut it into servings before I freeze it all to be lunches later
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was really delicious after I made a few little changes. Instead of "baking mix", I crushed up Doritos for the base. I covered that with the taco meat and shredded cheese before baking. When it came out of the oven, I spread sour cream over it, then added shredded lettuce, diced spring/garden onions, diced tomatoes, sliced black olives, green chilis, and drizzled taco sauce over it. My family and our friends loved it! It's a recipe that has been filed under "Favorites" in my recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This recipe was great. kinda like a taco salad. i will make this again and again. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was really good! A much better alternative to plain old burgers or tacos for dinner. Just used what was on hand and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
YUMMY! We really liked this. We LOVE tacos, but this was easier and less mess! We topped with canned tomatos and chiles, sour cream, and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
I used this to use up leftover taco meat. It was very tasty and different enough from tacos to make it worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My 10 year old daughter hates tacos but she went to town on this. I also enjoyed this. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was good and tastes just like a taco. We topped it with all our favorite toppings but the kids have more fun filling taco shells so we will stick to that. Thanks anyway. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States