Colorful Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
YUUU-MMY! I had a slight "inspiration" while making this last night. Instead of cooking the green and red peppers along with the onions and carrots, I roasted them by slicing in half lengthwise and placing them in the pre-heated broiler for a few minutes on each side until charred. Then let the pieces cool a few minutes before chopping them up to add into the soup along with the water. I also eliminated the dry potato flakes and used a large Yukon Gold diced and cooked with the onions and carrots. And I added just a little extra of each seasoning listed. This was a knock-out soup and so easy to make! Thanks Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was great! I roasted red and yellow peppers, (didn't use green), used 4 carrots, added a can of green chilis, can of cream style corn, subsituted 1 can of fat-free evaporated milk instead of half-and-half to lighten it up. Didn't use the milk at all and felt like it was just the right consistency. Oh, I also forgot to add the cheese on top and didn't miss it. This was great the first day, even better the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I LOVE corn chowder, but have never made it.This is one great recipe! After reviewing a number of other recipes and reader comments, I made a few changes. I didn't have any peppers that day, so I substituted a slice celery rib, and I added a 14 oz can of creamed corn after softening the vegetables. Instead of 3 c water, used 2 c water, 1 chicken broth + 3/4 cup skim milk powder. And reduced the potato flakes to 1 c. It was very good. Will make this again. You probably don't need to change anything in the original recipe, but I think that the creamed corn helps and I would use whatever broth you have on hand for part of the water required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I made this for the entire staff of the hotel I used to work for and everyone loved it. I made it again and froze it individual serving sizes. It is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This was really good. I refuse to eat potato flakes, so I added 3 finely diced yukon gold potatoes and some extra cheese and some flour to thicken it up. I also added some left over grilled chicken. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I really liked this creamy soup. Just the right amount of ingredients and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great when fresh but doesn't freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This was awesome!!! I used canned carrots to speed up the cooking process. I always make large amounts of soup when i cook. I made this recipe to yield 30 servings. I used Paprika instead of Cayenne,only because i had it in the house and Cayenne is VERYexpensive. To all you soup makers:ALWAYS STICK TO THE RECIPE MEASURES! IT IS VERY IMPORTANT.Sometimes a soups consistancy changes as you cook, wait until the finished product,then add whatever you think you have to add. Its dissapointing to "botch" up a batch of soup but thats how you learn. Karl Buffalo NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
My husband & I really liked the recipe w/ a few changes. Because we thought it should be a bit thicker, I used 2 - 16 oz. bags of frozen corn, & 1/2 c. more pot. flakes. (I used buds, which work just as well. Next time, I will add 1 can of cream of corn soup as well. Otherwise, delicious & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I added 1/2 cup of a sweet red wine and celery salt for taste and it was great!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States