Colorful Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This recipe is a total winner at my house! It has become my husbands favorite. He can't get enough of it. I've also made it for family and friends and they've all asked for the recipe. The prep time does take a little longer than it says, but it's really easy to throw together! It's also very filling! I like to put more cheese in it than it calls for, it seems to make it thicker. Also, it tastes great the next day, so I always make enough for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
I thought this was pretty terrible. It had no flavor at all. I tried to doctor it up with a bunch of spices, but I couldn't find any way to make it tasty. It is a very simple recipe, and thats what it tasted like. I guess you can't expect to make something this easy and have it taste wonderful. My friend liked it more than I did, but she still didn't think it was too great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This chowder was fabulous. I have never had corn chowder before, but this recipe sounded very interesting and I was SO glad I tried it. My husband raved also. I did spend the extra money on the Cayenne Pepper and was very glad that I did, it added that extra kick!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This was the best corn chowder to date. I didn't have potato flakes so I used real potatoes. I also used chicken stock in place of the water, used fresh corn on the cob that I grilled. I also roasted the red pepper. I thought it had a lot of flavor. My boyfriend thought this was the best corn chowder I have made. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Great recipe!! The 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne was a little too much for us the first time we only put in half of that now and it still tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Great soup, make a nice amount too. Followed recipe except for adding more frozen corn and one can of creamed corn. I did use what Emeril calls his 'boat motor' to mix it a little at the end. I would serve this soup again, family loved it except for youngest son. Great recipe Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
This was awesome!!! I used canned carrots to speed up the cooking process. I always make large amounts of soup when i cook. I made this recipe to yield 30 servings. I used Paprika instead of Cayenne,only because i had it in the house and Cayenne is VERYexpensive. To all you soup makers:ALWAYS STICK TO THE RECIPE MEASURES! IT IS VERY IMPORTANT.Sometimes a soups consistancy changes as you cook, wait until the finished product,then add whatever you think you have to add. Its dissapointing to "botch" up a batch of soup but thats how you learn. Karl Buffalo NY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
This was a very pretty corn chowder. I added a can of creamed corn to it, as other reviewers suggested. I will definitely make it again, but will probably add diced potatoes and double the red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
I served this recipe to a gathering of people of mixed ages....everybody loved...there wasn't a drop that went to waste. Great recipe! Will definitely make this one on a regular basis. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
All my guests loved this soup. I used flavored potato flakes (roasted garlic). I thought it was a little spicy, so I added more veggies, milk and half n' half. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States