Colorful Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I played around with this recipe so I don't know if my rating is accurate for the exact ingredients. I added salt, pepper, paprika, chile powder, and red chile flakes to taste. I substituted chicken broth for water. I also added a can of creamed corn and added chopped potatoes(put in microwave first for 2 min). It turned out SO yummy. It was the best 4 days after I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This tasted GREAT! I made it for 2 Filipinas & they loved it ;) I used canned corn (we don't have frozen here), I reduced the amount of carrots, added a little more water & added more of all the spices. I will make this again & again THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickerington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Davao City, Davao, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
It was OK! I don't like instant potatoes and that's what I could taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
i made this last night - i tweaked it a bit, i added fresh parsley and more seasoning as it seemed a bit bland - i didn't add milk or cream as it didn't need it because of the potato flakes, it was delicious and my kids loved it - served with fresh homemade ciabbata bread (recipe also on this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
I made this for the entire staff of the hotel I used to work for and everyone loved it. I made it again and froze it individual serving sizes. It is so flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This was great! I roasted red and yellow peppers, (didn't use green), used 4 carrots, added a can of green chilis, can of cream style corn, subsituted 1 can of fat-free evaporated milk instead of half-and-half to lighten it up. Didn't use the milk at all and felt like it was just the right consistency. Oh, I also forgot to add the cheese on top and didn't miss it. This was great the first day, even better the second.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Great when fresh but doesn't freeze very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
YUUU-MMY! I had a slight "inspiration" while making this last night. Instead of cooking the green and red peppers along with the onions and carrots, I roasted them by slicing in half lengthwise and placing them in the pre-heated broiler for a few minutes on each side until charred. Then let the pieces cool a few minutes before chopping them up to add into the soup along with the water. I also eliminated the dry potato flakes and used a large Yukon Gold diced and cooked with the onions and carrots. And I added just a little extra of each seasoning listed. This was a knock-out soup and so easy to make! Thanks Margo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
This was very good, I wouldn't say it was awesome but I would probably tweak it a bit to change the recipe to make it tastier. I think real potatoes, instead of potato flakes would make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States