Colorful Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I used a Poblano pepper, rather than the green bell, and roasted it with the red bell pepper. Since I wanted it savory, rather than sweet, I skipped the carrots. Used diced potato like some reviewers. To help thicken it, I used 5T of masa harina (since it's corn flour), which I mixed with water before adding. I also used some chipotle and ancho pepper (the kind you can shake on).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I loved this recipe. I did make some changes. I added chopped potato and chopped celery. I also used chicken broth. I used salt, pepper and some tobasco chipotle sauce instead of cayene pepper. When serving, I sprinkled with cheese, bacon pieces and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I enjoyed this recipe. I used evaporated milk instead of half and half with fine results. I personally thought it had too much "kick" with the Cayenne pepper and in the future will half the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made this for a friend after he had sugury so I only got to sample it. I 1/2 the recipe, used fresh potatoes, and added some cooked bacon. His 6 year old gave it thumbs up! Made it for us, freezes great,actually tasted better, reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I think the prep time is a little more than 10 minutes, but it was worth every extra minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I followed the advice of others and used some creamed corn with a bit of the regular frozen kind and substituted evaporated milk for the half and half and had disappointing results. I'm not sure which did it, but the soup had a unwanted sort of sweetness to it. If you're thinking of making this I would suggest avoiding the creamed corn and evaporated milk and just stick to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Manville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
my kids loved this recipe and it was a big hit with my sweetheart. I served it with a dash of tobasco and flaky biscuits. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gwendyh

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I added some celery, and used a can of creamed corn and a can of evaporated milk instead of the milk and half and half. I also used a couple of potatoes and the bags of corn were 16 ounces and I used two. I used canola oil to cook the onions and green and red peppers in and used a can of chicken bouillon plus a few cubes of bouillon and water instead of salt. I did use a lot of ground pepper but no hot pepper, I let each person add their own red pepper flakes or sauce as they preferred. My children raved about this soup. We added sharp cheddar at the end when re heating the chowder and I have never had so many raves even from my son in law who never eats soup and he said he had it for lunch and then for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I made this for my Husband who loves corn chowder and he told me it was the best corn chowder I have ever made! Easy and delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I played around with this recipe so I don't know if my rating is accurate for the exact ingredients. I added salt, pepper, paprika, chile powder, and red chile flakes to taste. I substituted chicken broth for water. I also added a can of creamed corn and added chopped potatoes(put in microwave first for 2 min). It turned out SO yummy. It was the best 4 days after I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Midway, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States