Colorful Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Bit surprised over the ratings. I just didn't think this was very good. It had a weird 'hot' sort of after taste that sat on my tongue, and yet it wasn't really hot, and was in fact bland and didn't have much flavor. But that weird after taste kept me from adding more zing to it. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Yummy - and nicely spiced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
My husband and I liked this soup. There are so many things you can easily change or add to your specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I've made this recipe twice and have adjdusted some ingredients to my taste. I had leftover cooked bacon so I chopped and added that along w 2 small diced/cooked potatoes. I used less water (2 1/2 cups), non-fat half and half and reduced fat shredded cheese. I think I will try it next time w chicken broth as others have suggested. Overall very good and even better the next day!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I enjoyed it. It was different, and I love adding the peppers to get some veggies in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKGRRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Hm, I'm not so sure about this one. It was edible, but tasted just as if it was some vegetables served in some warm milk. On top of that, the peppers really didn't seem to fit in with that concept at all. The potato flakes didn't seem to do much for the consistency. I see most people really enjoyed it so maybe this one is just not for us. Will try other corn chowder recipes. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
I followed the advice of other reviewers and added a can of green chiles and a chopped up russet potato to the first step (I did not want to buy potato flakes). I used a veggie "chicken" stock in place of the water. Everyone loved this recipe, though all agreed that it was the cheddar (get the sharpest you can find) that sent it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Really good, I use chunks of red potatoes instead of the flakes and add a can or 2 of creamed corn, I also add flour to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I substituted vegtable stock for the water, and also added a can of cream corn and cheese into the actual soup, instead of top. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
rjdaily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States