Colorful Coleslaw with a Kick Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My 1st coleslaw dish! Made for my 1st pot luck with my neice's lovely new in-laws. I thought they were all pretty traditional, so this dish seemed like going way out on a limb! I used two packages of pre-shredded coleslaw mix, 2x the cumin and garlic. The resulting dish looked gorgeous, smelled divine. To my untutored eye it looked like enough to feed 30, which was good as the 11 adult attendees all went back for third helpings of this wonderful dish. I came home with about 1 cup of slaw. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Went light on the EVOO I had on hand, light on the cumin, no garlic. It was great! Just enough flavor for the slaw, easy to eat a lot and totally good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Oh so yummy and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiecrossing

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
The flavors were not pronounced enough. It needs something more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Beautiful! And so nice to have an alternative to a may-based slaw. However, it definitely lacks a punch, even with extra hot sauce -- it needs more lime or the addition of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This slaw tastes great just after dressing is put on! Looks great impressive also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
What a great coleslaw, I liked that it didn't have any mayo in it. I didn't have a yellow bell pepper so had to use a green and red pepper, but yellow would certainly give more color, but the green tasted fine. I did up the cumin to one teaspoon and added more hot sauce, since I like it spicy. I let it marinade for about five hours and it was soooo good. We served this with some venison deer poppers on AR and it went very well with it. Thanks Doug for such a health conscious coleslaw...I will be making this again, but make sure I have a yellow bell in stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
delicious, I added some thinly sliced radish & a can of mexicorn. really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
very colorful and tasty! You can modify the salad dressing to your taste. The pictures do not do it justice, b/c it looks even better in real life. Dr. Don Colbert approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States