Colorful Bulgur Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Was looking for a burgul salad and found this recipe. Love it, so simple but delicious and filling. I added a little olive oil and fresh ground pepper instead of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Finally, a recipe for bulgur that is not tabouli! I think it's good just like it is. The dressing is tasty and not overpowering. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I love bulgur salads but did not like the chili/lime dressing on this recipe. I brought this to work for lunch and I didn't have the desire to finish it. I didnt want to waste a fibrous salad with veggies, so the next day, I mixed olive oil, lemon, and kosher salt, tossed it to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I pour boiling veggie/chicken broth over the bulgar (2 to 1). Strain it. Add indicated veggies plus a ton of fine chopped parsley (at least a cup), 2TBS lemon instead of lime juice and generous splash of cider vinegar, skip the chili and garlic power and top it off with half olive oil and half blended soy/sesame oil. Lots of fine pepper, some salt and that is how I've made it for 30+ years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gnoss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Very good salad. I used lemon juice instead of lime and added a bit of EVOO. Only added chili powder to taste. Make sure the dressing has a bit of a bite before you add the bulgur as the bulgur sucks it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
The combination of cracked bulgar and vegetables was wonderful. When I made the dressing it didn't smell very good, so instead I made a vinaigrette of cider vinegar, chili powder, and olive oil. The cider vinegar added a bright note to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
OK....this to me was really good! Some of the other reviews werent so hot on this dish, but I decided to try anyway. Glad I did. My only change was to used fresh lemon juice instead of the lime because I didnt have limes. I thought this was light and refreshing. Yes, very healthy, but thats what I was looking for. This was my first attempt at using Bulgur and it was a success. This is going to be a great salad come summer when you want to eat light. I also sprinkled some cayenne pepper on mine cause I like the heat. Will me making often! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
It's colorful and chock full of healthy ingredients. However, it lacked a certain tastiness. I'm not likely to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
Quick, easy and tasty. Tough to beat that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emsdettener Koch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Emsdetten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
This was very good and very easy. I used part of an English Cucumber, pre shredded carrots and used minced garlic rather than powder. I probably used more veggies than the recipe called for, but for so few calories you really get a lot of food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Panzanella Salad

See how to make a tasty tomato and bread salad that’s never soggy.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

See just how quick it is to whip up a healthy salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States