Colored Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was really simple and my daughter and I had so much fun making it! We're so excited to make our sugar cookies tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha_L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Worked great, thanks! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was so easy...took me less than five minutes. I put the sugar in a sandwich-sized ziploc bag, put in a few drops of liquid food coloring, closed the bag (leaving air in the bag so that she was room to shake it freely), and voila! With the see-through bag, I could see where the sugar and dye had clumped and was easily able to "de-clump" it and continue shaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
OMG I wish I'd realized how easy this was years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
If you put it in a small food processor or chopper, not only does the color mix well, but you end up with a finer grain of colored sugar. It doesn't take as much sugar when decorating and we like the finer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Brilliant and simple, just the way it is. Perfect for cake decorating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MormonFoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
worked perfectly, just put sugar in ziploc sandwich bag to mix... voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Pretty easy, although I found it necessary to "mix" the sugar and food coloring with a spoon or fork rather than just shaking it in a bag or container. Shaking left big blobs of colored sugar. I found scraping the sugar in a container with a fork to blend the color evenly to be most effective...although it had a bit of a 'nails-on-a-chalkboard' sound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
Great idea - I definitely needed this for cut out cookies. You can make as little or as much as you need and mix as many colors as you can come up with. I highly recommend going to the dollar store and getting small cheap containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I LOVE THIS little trick I tried this as soon as I read it I made some Blue and it was so pretty i dont know if anyone else thought to do this but make sure you sift the sugar onto the aluminum foil so that your sure to catch all the little clumps and your sugar stays fine I will be doing this alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States