Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Perfect Colorado green chili recipe! After browning the meat, onion and garlic I cook mine in the slow cooker - and boy is it ever good. Try and use roasted green chiles - we can get them at farmer's markets and frozen during the off season. In the fall, I usually buy a half bushel of XXX dynamite and half bushel of pueblos and freeze them for use throughout the year. This green chili is PERFECT for breakfast burritos! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe just won us first place at a chili cook-off. Everything was perfect except like GarlicHead said, it was too liquidy. We made a roux (gravy base) of flour browned in olive oil to thicken the stock. Worth the extra time to get the right consistency. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I used my own homemade salsa verde. Since I didnt have any green chilies, I used about 4 cans of diced fire roasted green chilies. I served mine over cheese enchiladas! MMM.....Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I have to admit, I'm from Colorado and I am a Green Chili Snob... I've been making green chili for as long as I can remember and understand that everyone who makes green chili has their own recipe. I tried this recipe on a whim, and Was pleasantly surprised. The onion and chicken broth give it a really nice flavor. If you're looking for a good green chili recipe.. This one is worth the time. The only thing I omitted were the cloves.. I'm just not a fan of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolamares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty good, but needed some modifications. The obvious is double the garlic ;-). Add one or two fresh tomatoes. Halve the broth. Double the oregano. And for the final touch, add 1 to 1 1/2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar. This thickens the chili and adds just the right amount of underlying smoothness to balance out the fire of the peppers. Also, depending on your peppers, you may want to add a few at a time. I had about 2 cups of good NM Hatchs that I added to a double recipe and it was plenty hot! A chacun son goût!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I love Chile Verde; but, despaired ever finding the perfect recipe. This is it and soooo easy to make! I didn't have any fresh roasted chilies, so I used canned-5 of the little cans to equal 2 cups or so. I increased the garlic to 6 cloves as suggested. I also used 1 can of diced tomatoes with added chilies. I chopped the onion, 2 of the cans of the chilies, the can of tomatoes with juice and the garlic together in my food processor. I browned the cubed pork in olive oil and seasoned it with salt and pepper. Then, all of it, including 4 cups of chicken broth went into my crock pot. Near the end of cooking, I added the dried oregano and the pinch of cloves. I never would have believed that the clove pinch would make such a difference, but it did. I don't usually add cloves to recipes because I don't care for it; however, in this recipe, it is a must! Just before serving, I made a roux of olive oil and flour to thicken the sauce. We made smothered Chile Verde burritos and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
THANK YOU Rosie55 for posting this fabulous recipe! Delicious!! My husband lived in CO many years & craves this kind of green chili, but it's almost unheard of in MN. I made a few little changes to suit us: I added in 2 ears of fresh grilled corn, doubled the garlic, added in a few shakes of roasted cumin, and used about 2# of pork butt/shoulder total in the recipe. I floured the pork cubes lightly before sauteing to help create a little extra thickening as we like it thicker to go over burritos, omelets, etc. I used the Salsa Lisa brand of tomatillo/green chile salsa. For the peppers I used 2 poblanos, 2 anaheims, 1 jalapeno & 1 small can of roasted diced green chiles. For me the heat was just right. I'll be making this for years to come, Thanks again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I loved the flavor of this chili. I would definitely make it again. My only problem with was that it just never got to the consistency that I would have hoped for, such as is with a conventional chili. It was much more loose, almost like a soup. Even after I put almost all of the veggies through the blender as prescribed in the recipe, the chili stayed too soup like to "pour" over anything, much less a burrito. I ended up making it in a slow cooker so perhaps that's the reason. I will be trying it again so we'll just have to wait and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wow! I lived in Colorado for several years and had lots of chili verde but this is the best I've ever had, or made! I must say that I wasn't keen on the tomatillo sauce because I don't care for it but after cooking, resting, reheating and eating that and the pinch of cloves made the dish fantastic!!! I recommend that each person make the recipe for the first time exactly as written. If you want to make changes after that then do. I also recommend making one day, cooling in fridge overnight and then reheating for best taste. Once again, the biggest surprise was the pinch of ground cloves......really makes the dish. Served ontop of freshly mashed potatoes. OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was good the first day and much better the second day. I followed the advice of making a roux and thickening it because mine was too thin. I had to used canned chilies, so it's probably five stars with fresh roasted ones. I really liked it with melted cheese and tortilla chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States