Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed this. I used my own homemade salsa verde. Since I didnt have any green chilies, I used about 4 cans of diced fire roasted green chilies. I served mine over cheese enchiladas! MMM.....Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Perfect Colorado green chili recipe! After browning the meat, onion and garlic I cook mine in the slow cooker - and boy is it ever good. Try and use roasted green chiles - we can get them at farmer's markets and frozen during the off season. In the fall, I usually buy a half bushel of XXX dynamite and half bushel of pueblos and freeze them for use throughout the year. This green chili is PERFECT for breakfast burritos! Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I loved the flavor of this chili. I would definitely make it again. My only problem with was that it just never got to the consistency that I would have hoped for, such as is with a conventional chili. It was much more loose, almost like a soup. Even after I put almost all of the veggies through the blender as prescribed in the recipe, the chili stayed too soup like to "pour" over anything, much less a burrito. I ended up making it in a slow cooker so perhaps that's the reason. I will be trying it again so we'll just have to wait and see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicHead

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Haddam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We LOVED this recipe. It was a nice change from tomato based chili. Being from Ohio, I could not find the right green chilies. So I roasted two poblano's in the oven and used a can of diced green chilies and a half a can of jalapeno. We served it over mashed potatoes which balanced out the heat from the chili nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Batavia, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Excellent i live in florida and u cant find green chili like that so i took it upon myself to make it and its the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This recipe just won us first place at a chili cook-off. Everything was perfect except like GarlicHead said, it was too liquidy. We made a roux (gravy base) of flour browned in olive oil to thicken the stock. Worth the extra time to get the right consistency. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I thought this was good the first day and much better the second day. I followed the advice of making a roux and thickening it because mine was too thin. I had to used canned chilies, so it's probably five stars with fresh roasted ones. I really liked it with melted cheese and tortilla chips on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Pretty good, but needed some modifications. The obvious is double the garlic ;-). Add one or two fresh tomatoes. Halve the broth. Double the oregano. And for the final touch, add 1 to 1 1/2 cups of shredded sharp cheddar. This thickens the chili and adds just the right amount of underlying smoothness to balance out the fire of the peppers. Also, depending on your peppers, you may want to add a few at a time. I had about 2 cups of good NM Hatchs that I added to a double recipe and it was plenty hot! A chacun son goût!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Palmetto, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Wow! I lived in Colorado for several years and had lots of chili verde but this is the best I've ever had, or made! I must say that I wasn't keen on the tomatillo sauce because I don't care for it but after cooking, resting, reheating and eating that and the pinch of cloves made the dish fantastic!!! I recommend that each person make the recipe for the first time exactly as written. If you want to make changes after that then do. I also recommend making one day, cooling in fridge overnight and then reheating for best taste. Once again, the biggest surprise was the pinch of ground cloves......really makes the dish. Served ontop of freshly mashed potatoes. OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I have to admit, I'm from Colorado and I am a Green Chili Snob... I've been making green chili for as long as I can remember and understand that everyone who makes green chili has their own recipe. I tried this recipe on a whim, and Was pleasantly surprised. The onion and chicken broth give it a really nice flavor. If you're looking for a good green chili recipe.. This one is worth the time. The only thing I omitted were the cloves.. I'm just not a fan of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolamares

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States