Colorado Green Chili (Chile Verde) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
DH is a native Tucsonan who spends quite a bit of time in New Mexico. He asked for green chile tonight, and I knew I didn't have enough time to go low and slow with a traditional recipe. Followed this using other posters' suggestions and my own alterations. Most importantly, because I have Celiac, I found a husband-delighted (he is a tough one!), gluten-free way around the roux other posters felt was necessary. Browned pork; put onion, 2x more garlic than called for, two 8 oz. cans of Herdez salsa verde, and one 13 oz. tub of thawed Buena roasted green chile in food processor, pulsed. Removed pork to a plate. Put processed veggie goodness into pan with a bit more heated oil, scraped up browned pork goodness, added a heaping tsp. of ground coriander, 1 good Tb. of cumin, and the pinch of clove called for. Simmered down; added tomatoes, pork. Simmered another 20-30 minutes; added 1 15 oz. can refried beans (gluten-free) and 1 can pinto beans, drained and rinsed. Simmer again for a bit and good to go. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
turned out great, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA
Living In: Taylorsville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
We love this recipe. I only use 2-3 cups of broths and use cornstarch to thicken. I try to use fresh Anaheim peppers whenever possible for the green chilies. I've even used fresh tomatillos and they add to the recipe flavor. This is a GREAT recipe to tweek to your families tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I can't stop eating this. Absolutely wonderful. I did use some of the tips from other commentors and added a few twists of my own. I added some cubed carrots and used a prepared Salsa Verde with jalapenos added. Also, I did make an olive oil/flour roux to thicken it a bit. If you don't like heat, I would recommend using a tomatillo-only salsa or make your own, leaving out the jalapenos. I used 5 poblanos, roasted in the oven and peeled. Next time, I'll use a few more. Make this recipe. You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
made a few modifications and tossed in 2 poblanos and 2 serranos and about a TBSP of fresh cilantro with a doubled recipe. gotta say the clove makes all the difference, this is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Only used about 1 cup of broth, otherwise kept the recipe the same. I used roasted NM Hatch chilis, a jar of salsa verde from Trader Joes. Placed it all in the crock pot 2 hours on high, 4 hours on low and ate the next day....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Miami Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Excellent recipe, I roasted my own green chilies in the oven at 500 degrees until blistered, then peeled and chopped them when cool. I think it made a great recipe even better. This is a recipe worth jotting down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIE55
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Hey all! So glad you like it. I totally agree, making a roux is a good idea. Or, you could add some diluted corn starch to the end to thicken it - mom does that and I forgot to add that part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Good flavor but a little too watery. Next time I will only add 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I used beef which was good. I didn't care for the clove in the recipe, so will leave that out in the future. Used 3c chicken broth rather than 5 and that was perfect. Will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chicken Chile Verde

Watch Chef John cook a simple but scrumptious chicken in tomatillo sauce.

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States