Colorado Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Doubled the recipe substituting ground sirloin for the second pound of meat. Family and friends all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was a great hit. This isn't a real spicy chili recipe on its own, but since its chili, that is quite easily adjusted as necessary. Also, keep in mind buffalo is typically more lean than beef, so be a bit more attentive than you would ground beef, unless you're well acquanted with buffalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Thank you Cornpop, we loved this recipe! I made it as described with the exception of black beans, I did it unplanned and for some reason I had none. I substituted frozen black eyed peas. Also, I used a bit more onion and garlic for personal preference and I had frozen some fire roasted poblano and Anaheim chilies that I used instead of fresh. I thought the seasoning was spot on but spicy is good in my house.I served it with cilantro, sour cream, and a bit more diced fresh onion. So very good and even better leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was surprisingly awesome. I was worried that it would be too spicy, but it actually turned out to be perfect ... a nice amount of heat but it did not overwhelm the flavor. I think the cumin gave it a nice smokey flavor too. The only thing I changed was I used a full onion and 2 anaheims instead of 1 anaheim, 1 poblano. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was delicious. I'd give this a five, but I'm not sure how it would've been if I'd spiced it up as much as the recipe called for. With a baby in the house, I thought it best to tone it down a bit. :) Otherwise, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcupocoffee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Love this extremely healthy and tastey version of chili!!! So little grease!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I loved this recipe, but hubby found it to be too spicy. I will not add the cayenne pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I don't know how you could say this didn't have much bite. I made a double batch, and while I doubled most of the spices, I stopped at one poblano and one Anaheim pepper (both fairly large). Even so, I added more tomatoes (sans chilies) to turn down the heat. We have a small chili cook off with friends on an annual basis, and I took first place with this tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Great Recipe. I doubled the batch using one pound of Bison and one pound of lean ground hamburger. I took it to a large Super Bowl party where they had a chili contest (18 entries) and won first prize. The cumin is listed twice on the recipe. I used 1 tsp of cumin for the two pounds of meat (double recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This was good. I didn't find an anaheim pepper, so I used 1/2 a jalapeno and 3/4 a green pepper. It was a bit too spicy. Next time I think I'll leave the jalapeno out. It was a little too overpowering. We tried this a second time and substituted a cubanelle for an anaheim pepper. It was good, but still a bit spicy. I think next time I will cut back on the red pepper flakes a bit. My two young children thought this was too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States