Colorado Buffalo Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Definitely a keeper! I made this chili tonight. The only thing I did differently was to make it on the stovetop, like another reviewer did. It was so good, I had seconds! I can't wait to try it tomorrow, since it's supposed to taste even better the next day. I wanted to point out, like a couple other reviewers, I thought there were typos in the ingredients list. This is not true. If you read the directions, you will see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Really like this recipe. I omitted the Anaheim and as I enjoy a little more heat, substituted a serrano pepper and added 2 t. of paprika for added color/flavor. I cook it on the stovetop; simmering for an hour after browning the bison and adding the remaining ingredients. Without the beans, though. Real Texas red NEVER has beans in it! It is a good, easy and quick recipe. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great recipe. The Poblano pepper really gives this chili a great flavor. The only thing I added was a half jalapeno pepper and a little water as the mixture ended up being a little thick. I also used 1 can of organic hot chili beans instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R8DERMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is great recipe! I had to use hamburger instead of buffalo and tangerine tomato (orange tomato) soup instead of regular tomato soup. It was so good and I'm sure it would have been even better with the ingredients for which the recipe called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This chili is amazing! I followed the recipe and doubled it for a party and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
A big hit with my bison loving family! I eliminated beans and doubled bison, due to a food allergy. I also cut back on the chiles, as I am overruled 4/5 in my house regarding spiciness. We served the chili over pasta, with toppings. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Doubled the recipe substituting ground sirloin for the second pound of meat. Family and friends all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was a great hit. This isn't a real spicy chili recipe on its own, but since its chili, that is quite easily adjusted as necessary. Also, keep in mind buffalo is typically more lean than beef, so be a bit more attentive than you would ground beef, unless you're well acquanted with buffalo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Thank you Cornpop, we loved this recipe! I made it as described with the exception of black beans, I did it unplanned and for some reason I had none. I substituted frozen black eyed peas. Also, I used a bit more onion and garlic for personal preference and I had frozen some fire roasted poblano and Anaheim chilies that I used instead of fresh. I thought the seasoning was spot on but spicy is good in my house.I served it with cilantro, sour cream, and a bit more diced fresh onion. So very good and even better leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gretna, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This was surprisingly awesome. I was worried that it would be too spicy, but it actually turned out to be perfect ... a nice amount of heat but it did not overwhelm the flavor. I think the cumin gave it a nice smokey flavor too. The only thing I changed was I used a full onion and 2 anaheims instead of 1 anaheim, 1 poblano. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States