Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
My family thought these bars were wonderful. I used only 2 cups of confectioners sugar in the frosting, though. I put some in my son's (age 7) lunch yesterday, and he said his friends were SO excited when they saw the bars, that he ended up giving them away and didn't get any himself! So, today, I sent two packages: one for him and another for his friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
This recipe was easy to prepare and turned out perfectly. Yielding to family preference, I left out the nuts, but the results were terrific. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
Really good cake. Not a very good "bar." Like one of the other reviewers, I was looking for something more like a finger food and this really needs a fork. As a cake though, it is very yummy. Will try again. Doubled the frosting. May try with a little clove and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Excellent, but it is more of a cake than a cookie bar. I made it with fresh pumpkin puree and substituted 1 cup brown sugar for the white sugar and added 1/2 tsp of allspice. It was moist and delicious and doesn't even need the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
I made these for a bake auction at our church - They sold at high prices. Everybody loved them. They are like carrot cake but it's pumpkin. Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
Excellent treat the walnuts make it really good, I used French vanilla frosting and they were still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
We loved this recipe! It turned out more of a bread than bars. We skipped the frosting. We made more after Thanksgiving and replaced the sugar with honey and maple syrup, this made a great warm breakfast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
Yummy! These pumpkin bars were super delicious and moist. Keep them covered and they'll be even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
This is the awesome pumpkin recipe! Very moist. Took some to work and everyone love them. they all wanted the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This was delicious! I made it for treats at church and it was a big hit. Very moist - I had a lot of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamarama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States