Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very tasty!! Gave it my own twist, I took a small orange and peeled it about 3/4 of the way and thru it into a processor and added that. It gave it a little zip. Served it like cake, will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
As other reviewers have said, it was pretty good but it was too thick and cake-like to be a bar. I don' think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made this with and without the nuts, I liked it better without the nuts. It was very moist and everyone loved it! For the frosting, the receipe calls for one 3 oz package cream cheese, make sure you use one 8 oz package of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
EXCELLENT RECIPE...CAME OUT PERFECTLY THE FIRST TIME...SO MOIST..GREAT FLAVOR...I DID USE HALF BROWN/HALF WHITE SUGAR, AND AS A TWIST I ADDED 1/4CUP MAPLE SYRUP TO THE BATTER AND A TOUCH OF MAPLE TO THE FROSTING..AND YES DOUBLE THE FROSTING..WAS NOT ENOUGH FOR US!..SIMPLE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
They are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These are great bars!! I always tweek recipes a bit so I used 50/50 white and brown sugar, fresh pureed pumpkin and cut out the walnuts in the bars and cut 1 cup of sugar out of the frosting. They came out beautifully!! Everyone loved them. I also used a stone pan instead of metal or glass. Very tasty, like pumpkin pie bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Quick bars to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I used pecans instead of walnuts. This cake has hardly any flavour. The cream cheese frosting makes it taste good. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
It was good, went over well at the office. Very dense and took a long time to cook. I added nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipe was a big hit! I omitted the walnuts, because my father can't eat them. However I added crumbled up Gingersnap Cookies instead. I had nothing but raves. I brought a few bars to work and was told I needed to make them for the Holiday bakeoff. And I think I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States