Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were easy to make, baked up nicely and cut well. I would have liked it if they had a more pronounced pumpkin flavour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I had to try a bite before I frosted these and they are wonderful! They do not fall apart when cut and they flavor is very good. I did use half brown sugar, half white and tweaked the spices only a little after reading other reviews. I'm sure they'd be excellent just as the recipe is written. I truly appreciate the fact that the recipe was written using butter, not vegetable oil. I wish I could search Allrecipes to avoid ingredients like vegetable oil, which I no longer use. Thanks so much for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammyjammy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very good and moist. I did put in a larger pan (cookie sheet used for sheet cakes) and cooked about 22 minutes. I then put in the refrigerator and chilled before frosting. I doubled the frosting recipe and added in a little bit of maple syrup. I had a little bit of frosting left over for sugar cookies tomorrow :) After frosting, I chilled again. They cut into bars nicely. I sprinkled nuts on top instead of putting in the mix and served them on a platter for a potluck. Very moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
OMG, this is FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!! I added whole cranberries to this and frosted it with cream cheese frosting and YUMMMMMMMY! My kids and Husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Everybody wanted the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
As other reviewers have said, this is a cake not a bar. It's good and fairly moist, I liked the frosting, but it was nothing amazing. There are other pumpkin cake recipes on this site that I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Amazingly awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were excellant, will use this recipe again and again! I disagree with another reviewer, this makes the perfect amount of frosting. The frosting is pretty sweet so I would not want any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
My rating really isn't accurate since both batches of these bars were gone before I could get so much as a bite, but from what I hear, they're wonderful! They were very easy to make and I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This dessert is amazing! The only thing I did differently was put it in a 9 x 13 pan. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States