Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this recipe about four years ago for a fall house warming party. Everyone loved it. Now I make it all the time. I even make the batter into mini muffins and leave the frosting off for the kids to take to school for snack. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
These were bland even though I increased the cinnamon by almost double. The texture was fair, I pulled them from the oven 4-5 minutes early to keep them moist. I think an oil recipe would have allowed the pumpkin flavor to come through better. After tasting, I topped the frosting w/crushed skor and a butterscoth swirl to try and salvage them. This made them beautiful, and tasty in my kids opinion, but they were not salvagable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Good, but needs a little more spice. Perhaps I should have used more pumpkin puree or pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I thought this was a very easy & delicious recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Save this frosting recipe! This turned out more like a spice/pumpkin cake than dense bars. I've tried it both in a 9x13 and jelly roll pan, both work out. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I made this for thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit. It does turn out more like a dense cake but is moist and the icing is fabulous. A nice change from the standard pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
A great fall recipe or for the holidays. I have some frozen in the fridge as I type. I love how easy it is and how well it bakes. Just lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This recipe is easy and tastey. I even served it w/o the frosting (to reduce the fat). Instead I just sprinkled on a couple TB of a yellow cake mix. This recipe also works with oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
I made this and took it to my mom's house for Thanksgiving, and she decided that I'd have to make it every time I visit her from now on. Hmmm... maybe I really should have rated it a 1 star. Anyways, it's a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
It was very easy to prepare foolproof! I did not want the frosting to be extremely sweet and only used 2 cups of confectioner's sugar and 6oz. of cream cheese. It was great! My whole family enjoyed it and it made my sister-in-law jealous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lily1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States