Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2004
Very tasty!! Gave it my own twist, I took a small orange and peeled it about 3/4 of the way and thru it into a processor and added that. It gave it a little zip. Served it like cake, will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
As other reviewers have said, it was pretty good but it was too thick and cake-like to be a bar. I don' think I'd make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I made this with and without the nuts, I liked it better without the nuts. It was very moist and everyone loved it! For the frosting, the receipe calls for one 3 oz package cream cheese, make sure you use one 8 oz package of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
EXCELLENT RECIPE...CAME OUT PERFECTLY THE FIRST TIME...SO MOIST..GREAT FLAVOR...I DID USE HALF BROWN/HALF WHITE SUGAR, AND AS A TWIST I ADDED 1/4CUP MAPLE SYRUP TO THE BATTER AND A TOUCH OF MAPLE TO THE FROSTING..AND YES DOUBLE THE FROSTING..WAS NOT ENOUGH FOR US!..SIMPLE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
They are very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HPERRONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2003
These are great bars!! I always tweek recipes a bit so I used 50/50 white and brown sugar, fresh pureed pumpkin and cut out the walnuts in the bars and cut 1 cup of sugar out of the frosting. They came out beautifully!! Everyone loved them. I also used a stone pan instead of metal or glass. Very tasty, like pumpkin pie bars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRINITY7

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
Quick bars to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
I used pecans instead of walnuts. This cake has hardly any flavour. The cream cheese frosting makes it taste good. mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
It was good, went over well at the office. Very dense and took a long time to cook. I added nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This recipe was a big hit! I omitted the walnuts, because my father can't eat them. However I added crumbled up Gingersnap Cookies instead. I had nothing but raves. I brought a few bars to work and was told I needed to make them for the Holiday bakeoff. And I think I will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States