Colonial Pumpkin Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This dessert is amazing! The only thing I did differently was put it in a 9 x 13 pan. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Wow...YUMMY!! Like many other people have said, this recipe is more like a cake than a bar, however WHO CARES!...it's DELICIOUS!! I followed the recipe as written with the exception of adding raisins instead of walnuts. This cake is SOOO MOIST. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkrmk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I made these because of the picture on the front page of allrecipes.com page and it was absolutely easy and sooo darn tasty. The frosting is perfect (I thought it might be too thick) but after letting the cake cool to room temperature it spread on it perfectly to just the right amount. The cake itself is wonderful with that hint of cinnamon and nutmeg, I wouldn't change a thing. Pefect to serve for your company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Nice, moist bars. I used 1/2 butter, 1/2 applesauce. The cream cheese frosting goes very well. I opted to not use the nuts, but sprinkled dried cranberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
The cake is delicious and moist. The icing was way too dry and sugary with only 3 ounces of cream cheese, so I kept adding cream cheese and butter until it was the right consistency and the right cream cheese taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie b

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
These are very moist and delicious! However, I didn't frost them with the cream cheese frosting. I took the advice of another reviewer and used a caramel frosting (Caramel Frosting II from AR). I also baked them in a 13x9 pan. I must have eaten half of them myself last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by messy_jessie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Definitely more of a cake than a bar, but it doesn't matter; because it is DELICIOUS!!! I can't say how many requests I got for this when I made it 3 years ago for Thanksgiving. I've been making it ever since!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noramyster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
been using this recipe for a couple years now.it is to die for!!! OK so it's not a "bar" who cares!! it's great and a hit with friends and family and the frosting is PERFECT!!! the bars come out so moist! it's 5 stars and mouth watering!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Yes, the name is a bit misleading, as these are not bars, but cake. The only reason this matters is that these "bars" are best served like a sheet cake, on a plate, with a fork. I wouldn't call these a grab-and-go type thing. Nonetheless, I was entirely pleased with these. While I do like pumpkin bars/cakes made with vegetable oil, I did appreciate that this was made with butter and the taste difference is noticeable and pleasant. I'm not a big fan of nutmeg, and the recipe seemed a little short on spice, so in addition to the cinnamon I substituted 1 tsp. of pumpkin pie spice for the 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. And, because I'm kind of tired of the same ol' cream cheese frosting I made a caramel frosting instead, and sprinkled some crushed cinnamon cookies over the top. It was a great flavor combination, but this cake is so moist and flavorful it would be great with no frosting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
These were delicious! I used one and a half cups of sucanat in place of the white sugar and baked them in a 9" X 13" baking dish. Became a very moist sheet cake. Next time I'll use the jelly roll pan. My husband loves pumpkin, so these will quickly become a favorite. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Pumpkin Creme Brulee

Watch Chef John make the perfect holiday dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States