Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Correia
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
For those of you that have complained about the recipe, let me give you some advice. At no time should there be any butter floating as a glob that you have to "mop" up. You don't have your crock pot hot enough. Start it out on high if you plan on having this drink in a couple of hours. I let it usually simmer for 4-5 hrs and it is an after dinner drink. When the crock is steaming and the buter is glistening, then you have your batch correct. Don't add the rum to the pot if it is too much. Add it to the each mug to taste. If you alter this recipe with splenda or margarine and still rate this poorly, that is your problem. Best of luck to those who take another stab at it. I think you will be happier with the results...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
318 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
UPDATE: For those of you who think there is too much butter, you really MUST stir it well before serving into each cup, then add the rum and top with whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg. There is nothing better! The butter really gives it its rich taste. One more thing, use dark rum. Made this for a party I had on Christmas Eve. Everyone raved. I doubled the recipe and added the rum to cups before topping it with this. The whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg really made it. I think this has become a new traditional winter drink for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
Great hot drink, served for Thanksgiving and was a hit! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
Very yummy! Perfect after a delicious dinner with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Awesome sweet and buttery taste! I only used 1 cup rum though, and it was plenty. Super way to warm up on a snowy cold winter afternoon! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Everyone loved it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a wonderful holiday drink. It is very sweet and stong, but a great after dinner drink. I think it is a much easier recipe to prepare and forget about since it's cooked in the crock-pot. It is our new Christmas tradition...all of the adults have a mug full, while the kids open and play with their new gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was a HIT at my sisters Christmas party. I did make the mistake of not having cinnamon sticks, so did a few good shakes of ground cinnamon. BIG mistake. I ended up with cinnamon floating at the top of the crock. I just let it simmer, then poured it through a strainer to remove that residue and it was awesome. Then I got some cinnamon sticks for when I make this again on Christmas Eve for the family. It was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
Made this at Christmas and it was a smash! Even my brother drank it! ::smile::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Excellent. A Christmas tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States