Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My daughter made this for Christmas and followed the recipe exactly. Totally awesome, will keep her recipe and make again! It has become a new tradition for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I haven't made this yet so this is not a review, just a question - could this be stored in the fridge for a week or two and just reheated? We would never use the whole recipe at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I made this drink for a xmas party I threw at my house this year, a bunch of 20 somethings who typically drink beer and hard alcohol. It was a hit with everyone though, I will be making this from now on for all my holiday festivities. After reading the helpful hints I did put my crockpot on high heat for the first 30mins or so then let simmer on low for about 4 and half hours. It came out perfect with no "globs" of butter to be seen. I would recommend not serving in a clear glass mug and maybe even preparing out of site of the drinker because I did get some comments about it basically looking like dirty water. But the whip cream covers it up and everyone still drank and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was FAR TOO sweet for my taste. I may try it again with only 1 cup of brown sugar. We couldn't even drink it... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I wanted to test this recipe for my Christmas party and I'm glad I did. I think this was good, but the brown sugar sweetness overpowered the nutty, buttery flavor that I was looking for. Next time I try it, I will cut the brown sugar and substitute a little butterscotch schnapps for some of the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This was absolutely AMAZING!! I followed the recipe exactly except I added some extra rum. I made it to drink while we made Thanksgiving dinner in the afternoon...I think that I have found my new tradition!! Thank you sooooo much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGriffinz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh' My !!! .... This will forever be a traditional drink for the holidays in our family. I was under the impression that this was made on the stove. When I discovered that this was a slow cooker drink, I panicked with only 2 hours away from company arriving. I decided to start out the batch on the stove and brought to a boil, then simmered for approx. 15 minutes. I then placed the batch in the slow cooker and placed on high for 2.5 hours. This was PERFECT !! ... I also agree, if anyone has butter floating on the top..... IT'S NOT READY ... Keep simmering until the butter is not floating on top. KEEP THAT LID ON, and let it cook !! ... Thank You Linda Correia for this outstanding recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGriffinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I made this last year for a holiday party & everyone loved it--I'm so glad it's still here, I've been sick for 3 days & nothing sounds good--except for this! Scaling it down to 4 servings & will share with my husband (of course) and praying for a good, deep sleep! Thank you Linda for posting the recipe and the helpful comments as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I made this recipe for my christmas party last year , I thought it was great and now it has hit our favorite holiday recipe list. Thank you so much. Rev.R.Davis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert D.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's sweet, but good! We drank this all morning on Christmas Day - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States