Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Made exactly as recipe called. All my Christmas guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I must say i read some of the reviews and i was wondering what they did wrong i did omit the cloves due to personal preferrence but it was still most amazing thank you very very much linda correia for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
OUR COLONIAL ANCESTORS WERE A VERY HEARTY BUNCH!!! THIS IS BY FAR, THE VERY BEST. IT CAN TAKE YOU BACK TO THOSE DAYS IF YOU ONLY CLOSE YOUR EYES!!! LOVE IT, MEGGY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made this for Christmas...it was a hit, made a 2nd batch and shared with friends...it is sweet so it's more like a 'dessert after dinner drink' - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
THIS IS OVER THE TOP DELECIOUS.WE PUT THE RUM IN INDIVIDUAL CUPS SO THAT PEOPLE COULD DECIDE HOW MUCH OR LITTLE THEY WANTED.ONLY WARNING...THIS COULD BE ADDICTIVE IT IS SO GOOD.I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH THE AMOUNT OF BUTTER.I GUESS BECAUSE I LET IT GET REALLY HOT FOR A WHILE BEFORE I LET IT SIMMER.MADE THIS FOR A CHRISTMAS PARTY.WILL MAKE IT FOR A NEWS YEARS PARTY ALSO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very, very, very good holiday drink. I put everything but the rum in a crockpot on warm for 10-12 hours(really just let it sat on warm for the whole weekend) and then added rum to each serving/taste. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was pretty good, but a bit sweet. My husband said that it left a coating on his tongue from the butter. I think the next time I make it, I will only use 1-1 1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I have been making this recipe for years now and it is such a hit I get in trouble if I don't make it! I love this recipe and will continue to use it for all my holiday gatherings! Thank you so much for posting such a treat of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta Loma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Wooh man! This was VERY VERY strong for my taste! I added some more plain hot water to my serving. It tasted delicious after that. Next time I'll cut the rum down to 1 1/2 cups. I also melted the butter before putting it in my crock pot. I think it helped with it blending in. I didn't have it floating on top like some have said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was awesome. So warm and soothing! Next time I would use a little less sugar, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States