Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful! Very rich, but terrific flavor. It's Christmas. Splurge a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made this several times over the years. Follow the directions and you won't go wrong. A holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Love love love! I halved the recipe and used low fat (50%) generic butter. Also used a couple sprinkles of cinnamon and allspice instead of cloves. Great hot beverage for our tree trimming festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Another big hit at my house. I've served this every year for our Cookies and Cocoa party at Christmas time. The kids LOVE the "Fluffy Hot Cocoa" (see my review), but the adults come for the Colonial Hot Buttered Rum. My only problem is making enough, it goes FAST and each year, more people come to try "The Gopal's Buttered Rum".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.MomRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I should have listened to the other reviews... It really is strong... Also VERY greasy even though I let it cook for almost 6 hours. The flavor was good until I added the rum, it ruined it for me. I could have over looked the grease if it wasn't so strong. Kinda disappointed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlieMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This drink is fabulous, especially with a nice whipped cream topping. Rave reviews at a recent holiday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe MADE my party! Everyone loved it.(Esp. the men for some reason!) I added a bit of apple cider in the amount of the water that was called for. To keep it manageable for the night, I bought a hot beverage "pump" coffee urn from Sam's, filled it up with the prepared hot buttered part and then added the rum right into the container. It was like heaven in a glass and stayed hot all evening that way!! I will make this for every holiday party I have now. Heck, I might just have a party so I can make it again! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I've made this for 2 Christmases now and it's delicious. I add the rum individually as I found it too strong when I added the instructed amount. It's good without the rum too for the non-drinkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atco, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent, easy to make and really yummy! Did not have whole cloves so replaced with 1.5 rounded tsp of ground allspice for 12 servings. Also used extra dark rum, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States