Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
UPDATE: (Since I can't delete or add to my last review). I used spice rum and salted butter with no extra salt. I also made it on the stove instead of the crock pot. I added everything listed above the rum and brought to a boil til the butter melted then allowed to simmer til desired level of taste then added the rum per cup and a splash of heavy cream as I didn't want to make or have whipped cream on hand or any vanilla ice cream. Other then those slight changes I made this recipe. Next time i may add a vanilla bean and possibly some whole all spice as well. It does make the house smell great while it's cooking and this is tasty as stated but you do have to stir to keep butter mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Delicious and super easy to make. I dialed down the recipe for just a couple servings, but still amazing. Whipped cream on top is a must and if you can try bundling the cinnamon and cloves in some cheese cloth (it will make it much easier to remove later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Wonderful! Very rich, but terrific flavor. It's Christmas. Splurge a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I have made this several times over the years. Follow the directions and you won't go wrong. A holiday favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Love love love! I halved the recipe and used low fat (50%) generic butter. Also used a couple sprinkles of cinnamon and allspice instead of cloves. Great hot beverage for our tree trimming festivities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoBears!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Another big hit at my house. I've served this every year for our Cookies and Cocoa party at Christmas time. The kids LOVE the "Fluffy Hot Cocoa" (see my review), but the adults come for the Colonial Hot Buttered Rum. My only problem is making enough, it goes FAST and each year, more people come to try "The Gopal's Buttered Rum".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.MomRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I should have listened to the other reviews... It really is strong... Also VERY greasy even though I let it cook for almost 6 hours. The flavor was good until I added the rum, it ruined it for me. I could have over looked the grease if it wasn't so strong. Kinda disappointed....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CurlieMay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This drink is fabulous, especially with a nice whipped cream topping. Rave reviews at a recent holiday party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe MADE my party! Everyone loved it.(Esp. the men for some reason!) I added a bit of apple cider in the amount of the water that was called for. To keep it manageable for the night, I bought a hot beverage "pump" coffee urn from Sam's, filled it up with the prepared hot buttered part and then added the rum right into the container. It was like heaven in a glass and stayed hot all evening that way!! I will make this for every holiday party I have now. Heck, I might just have a party so I can make it again! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie du Mont
Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States