Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda Correia
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
For those of you that have complained about the recipe, let me give you some advice. At no time should there be any butter floating as a glob that you have to "mop" up. You don't have your crock pot hot enough. Start it out on high if you plan on having this drink in a couple of hours. I let it usually simmer for 4-5 hrs and it is an after dinner drink. When the crock is steaming and the buter is glistening, then you have your batch correct. Don't add the rum to the pot if it is too much. Add it to the each mug to taste. If you alter this recipe with splenda or margarine and still rate this poorly, that is your problem. Best of luck to those who take another stab at it. I think you will be happier with the results...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy to make and serve. I served it with Thanksgiving dessert and received a ton of compliments. Since I do not keep whole cloves on hand, I just emptied out a teabag and put 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves in the empty teabag. I then put the teabag in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients. (I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon allspice to the teabag.) I love vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of that to the water mixture. These additions mingle well with the original recipe, especially if you love holidy spices like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This was a HIT at my sisters Christmas party. I did make the mistake of not having cinnamon sticks, so did a few good shakes of ground cinnamon. BIG mistake. I ended up with cinnamon floating at the top of the crock. I just let it simmer, then poured it through a strainer to remove that residue and it was awesome. Then I got some cinnamon sticks for when I make this again on Christmas Eve for the family. It was wonderful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUTSBELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
This is a wonderful holiday drink. It is very sweet and stong, but a great after dinner drink. I think it is a much easier recipe to prepare and forget about since it's cooked in the crock-pot. It is our new Christmas tradition...all of the adults have a mug full, while the kids open and play with their new gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe. The flavor was good, however, I have never had a drink with so much butter in it. I couldn't finish it and had to keep spooning butter off the top of the drink. I really thought that I would like. If you make this and are not used to having butter in your drinks, I would cut the butter down to half, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome!!!!!! I did if for four of us for a Christmas meal I put together. Everyone was in awe of the incredible taste. Like eveyone says (who've tried it) - like drinking a liquid cinnamon bun. So good in fact, that I was asked to make more for another larger Christmas party on Boxing Day. Again, nothing but oohs and aahs.. This is now a Cristmas tradition for my Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheGriffinz
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh' My !!! .... This will forever be a traditional drink for the holidays in our family. I was under the impression that this was made on the stove. When I discovered that this was a slow cooker drink, I panicked with only 2 hours away from company arriving. I decided to start out the batch on the stove and brought to a boil, then simmered for approx. 15 minutes. I then placed the batch in the slow cooker and placed on high for 2.5 hours. This was PERFECT !! ... I also agree, if anyone has butter floating on the top..... IT'S NOT READY ... Keep simmering until the butter is not floating on top. KEEP THAT LID ON, and let it cook !! ... Thank You Linda Correia for this outstanding recipe !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGriffinz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
We enjoyed this very much on Christmas day. It's very strong (at least for me!) so the whipped cream really made the drink for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
UPDATE: For those of you who think there is too much butter, you really MUST stir it well before serving into each cup, then add the rum and top with whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg. There is nothing better! The butter really gives it its rich taste. One more thing, use dark rum. Made this for a party I had on Christmas Eve. Everyone raved. I doubled the recipe and added the rum to cups before topping it with this. The whipping cream and freshly ground nutmeg really made it. I think this has become a new traditional winter drink for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Debary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Awesome sweet and buttery taste! I only used 1 cup rum though, and it was plenty. Super way to warm up on a snowy cold winter afternoon! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States