Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
A super-yummy extra-indulgent treat!! I used Spiced Rum, which I would highly recommend for a little added flavor. Also, instead of whipped cream I put a small scoop of vanilla ice cream into each mug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I was so excited to try this recipe. The flavor was good, however, I have never had a drink with so much butter in it. I couldn't finish it and had to keep spooning butter off the top of the drink. I really thought that I would like. If you make this and are not used to having butter in your drinks, I would cut the butter down to half, if not more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WOW! You only need one of these! Very sweet and very good! Careful. It will make you very sleepy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Osakis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I was really disappointed. It was watery yet overly greasy without much other flavor. I couldn't taste the spices at all and definitely did get that "cinnamon bun" flavor that other reviewers mentioned. Was looking for a great hot holiday after dinner drink...I will keep on looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Awesome!!!!!! I did if for four of us for a Christmas meal I put together. Everyone was in awe of the incredible taste. Like eveyone says (who've tried it) - like drinking a liquid cinnamon bun. So good in fact, that I was asked to make more for another larger Christmas party on Boxing Day. Again, nothing but oohs and aahs.. This is now a Cristmas tradition for my Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used Splenda brown sugar (caution: read the label and only use half; it's concentrated!) and I also used Light apple juice from Walmart Supercenter. I used Reddi Whip extra creamy whipped cream from the can and sprinkled nutmeg on top. I love things that are sweet, but please notice that many of the reviews say "it was so sweet." Even though I used "light" apple juice and Splenda, I must agree, I would cut the brown sugar down to only 1 cup or 1-1/2 at the very most. Y'all this stuff is wonderful but TOO SWEET. I added a stick of unsalted butter (no margarine for me!) and I added 1/2 cup of Butter Schnapps for a smooth flavor. I will make again for an upcoming Christmas Carol Hayride, but I will cut the brown sugar. Everything else was good, and I loved using my slow cooker and making my house smell wonderful. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This recipe is easy to make and serve. I served it with Thanksgiving dessert and received a ton of compliments. Since I do not keep whole cloves on hand, I just emptied out a teabag and put 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves in the empty teabag. I then put the teabag in the crockpot with the rest of the ingredients. (I also added 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon allspice to the teabag.) I love vanilla and added 1 teaspoon of that to the water mixture. These additions mingle well with the original recipe, especially if you love holidy spices like I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Fabulous, a new Thanksgiving favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Perfect for the holidays! It was a little too strong. Next time I make it I'll only add 1 to 1 1/4 C rum at the most. The butter does form a disturbing layer on the top of the drink, but I just blotted the top of the drinks w/a paper towel before adding the whipped cream. If you hold the paper towel there for a minute it will absorb most of it. Will definately make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This tasted good but my sister inlaws and I had a hard time finishing them because you could see all the butter floating at the top of your glass. I think I'll make hot chocolate or spiced cider next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States