Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Takes a bit of finesse, but always seems to be a crowd pleaser. Super rich, so keep the servings kinda small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Yum! This was great! I only added 1 1/4 cup of rum and thought that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Extremely rich. Like drinking a butterscotch candy. Definately a dessert drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is SO GOOD! I made this for my New Years Day party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe! However I had to make a few adjustments to what I had on hand. My crockpots were occupied so I had to make it on the stove. I melted the butter over med High heat added the brown sugar and 3 tsp ground cinnamon (I didn't have any sticks)and mixed well( like when making cookies) added the water, I used 2 tsp all spice( Didn't have cloves) added the pinch of salt. brought this to a full boil, then lowered the heat to low, covered and LEFT IT ALONE FOR 3 HRS. right before serving I turned the heat OFF added the rum( I used Captian morgans spiced rum) served in mugs and topped with whipped cream! will make this many more times this winter and every winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
OMG! This is the most amazing drink ever! I read through all the reviews and followed the directions. I did cook on high for one hour and then let it simmer for about 6 -7 hours before everyone was ready for their dessert. This will become a winter party favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Very good, But could only drink a small cup, It was pretty sweet. Will make again for holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gailleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My daughter made this for Christmas and followed the recipe exactly. Totally awesome, will keep her recipe and make again! It has become a new tradition for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I haven't made this yet so this is not a review, just a question - could this be stored in the fridge for a week or two and just reheated? We would never use the whole recipe at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Fantastic! I made this drink for a xmas party I threw at my house this year, a bunch of 20 somethings who typically drink beer and hard alcohol. It was a hit with everyone though, I will be making this from now on for all my holiday festivities. After reading the helpful hints I did put my crockpot on high heat for the first 30mins or so then let simmer on low for about 4 and half hours. It came out perfect with no "globs" of butter to be seen. I would recommend not serving in a clear glass mug and maybe even preparing out of site of the drinker because I did get some comments about it basically looking like dirty water. But the whip cream covers it up and everyone still drank and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This was FAR TOO sweet for my taste. I may try it again with only 1 cup of brown sugar. We couldn't even drink it... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Berg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States