Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and then again for Christmas and New Years. My family has not stopped talking about it all year. In fact I think it may be the most anticipated item on the menu this year! The real whip cream and nutmeg on top make this drink over the top special. Don't change a thing. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is amazingly good and will be added to my "keepers" list. I used Blackheart spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Did this last year...makes the whole house smell good. Had tons of compliments...I added an extra stick or two of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Great recipe! Made exactly as recipe called. All my Christmas guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I must say i read some of the reviews and i was wondering what they did wrong i did omit the cloves due to personal preferrence but it was still most amazing thank you very very much linda correia for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
OUR COLONIAL ANCESTORS WERE A VERY HEARTY BUNCH!!! THIS IS BY FAR, THE VERY BEST. IT CAN TAKE YOU BACK TO THOSE DAYS IF YOU ONLY CLOSE YOUR EYES!!! LOVE IT, MEGGY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Made this for Christmas...it was a hit, made a 2nd batch and shared with friends...it is sweet so it's more like a 'dessert after dinner drink' - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
THIS IS OVER THE TOP DELECIOUS.WE PUT THE RUM IN INDIVIDUAL CUPS SO THAT PEOPLE COULD DECIDE HOW MUCH OR LITTLE THEY WANTED.ONLY WARNING...THIS COULD BE ADDICTIVE IT IS SO GOOD.I HAD NO PROBLEM WITH THE AMOUNT OF BUTTER.I GUESS BECAUSE I LET IT GET REALLY HOT FOR A WHILE BEFORE I LET IT SIMMER.MADE THIS FOR A CHRISTMAS PARTY.WILL MAKE IT FOR A NEWS YEARS PARTY ALSO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Andersen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very, very, very good holiday drink. I put everything but the rum in a crockpot on warm for 10-12 hours(really just let it sat on warm for the whole weekend) and then added rum to each serving/taste. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was pretty good, but a bit sweet. My husband said that it left a coating on his tongue from the butter. I think the next time I make it, I will only use 1-1 1/2 c brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States