Colonial Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty but a little too buttery, even after 6 hours in the slow cooker. The leftovers went in the fridge in a jar, and a hard layer of butter re-formed at the top - once that was scraped off (and re-used in cookies), it was much better! Would use at least 1/3 less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Very tasty. Followed directions exactly but halved it. Not big on strong drinks and this was just right. Very flavorful without being too overwhelming. Was able to put in container and place in fridge and have over next few days. Tasted like Christmas in a cup :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Too yummy for words! Thanks Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNA RENEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Texas, USA
Living In: Howe, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Wonderful - made it twice for Christmas parties and was a huge hit both times. I used Bacardi Gold and everyone loved it. I will have have to double the recipe for next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was delicious. I added a little more butter. Everyone said it tasted like an adult sugar cookie. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was easy to make and it came out very well, except it was notably quite salty, much saltier than I'm used to hot buttered rum being. I think next time I'd leave out the extra salt or try unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay Niles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yum! I used lots of nutmeg...I think it made the drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this last year for Thanksgiving and then again for Christmas and New Years. My family has not stopped talking about it all year. In fact I think it may be the most anticipated item on the menu this year! The real whip cream and nutmeg on top make this drink over the top special. Don't change a thing. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This is amazingly good and will be added to my "keepers" list. I used Blackheart spiced rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alanna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Did this last year...makes the whole house smell good. Had tons of compliments...I added an extra stick or two of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States