Colonial Brown Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Very good bread and smelled wonderful while cooking. I did not have buttermilk so I did the milk with vinegar. The bread taste like it has molasses baked in without the bother. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Canisteo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I read all the reviews before making this. Everyone enjoyed it smothered in butter, but there was an aftertaste of baking soda, if you just ate the bread alone. I'm thinking of adding spices (cinnamon, ginger, cloves and nutmeg) next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
One of my absolute favorite recipes. But I suggest using full fat buttermilk. Low fat versions tend to make a drier bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Just took this out of the oven a few minutes ago and we have eaten half of it already (but I have 7 children to feed).... just caught my 2 year old sharing with her 6 month old sister. I have been on the lookout for a new way to use my wheat and this is a perfect bread for anytime of day: breakfast, snack or dinner. Instead of buttermilk, I substituted sour milk (add 1Tb vineagar for each cup of milk) . I might use just 3/4C brown sugar next time and add some chopped dates or raisins. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This bread was just OK. Something about the flavor just didn't seem right. It was a little better when eaten with herbed spreadable cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
Delicious! I was looking for something without yeast, since my toddler is sensitive to that. She loved it and so did I! I halved the recipe, used powdered buttermilk, and added 1 cup chopped raisins. Lightly sweet, very flavorful, and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FRITZ1976
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
This is a very simple bread to make, with very nice results! ps - I substituted sour milk for buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Great recipe! To make it more moist, I like to substitute half a cup or more of molasses for half a cup of brown sugar. Usually we have it with baked beans, but if we're having it for tea or for breakfast, I add raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
Buttermilk is hard to come by sometimes....especially when a recipie calls for it. I substituted 1 cup buttermilk for 1 tbsp of white vinigar and then adding milk to equal 1 cup. I did this four times. My grandmother offered the substitute, she says homoginized milk is the best to use when substituting, I only had skim and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This bread was good, very filling. The dough seemed pretty dry, so I added some honey and golden raisins to a second loaf and it turned out even better that the first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boston Brown Bread III

See how to make traditional Boston brown bread with molasses.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States